Avg. User Ratings
4.4
Rated 4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5 stars (based on 617 reviews)

CyberGhost VPN are definitely a top 5 VPN provider. Excellent privacy, anonymity, features and price. Very reliable and good community support.

A Highly recommended VPN Provider. 

PROS

CONS

CyberGhost "Short & Sweet" TL;DR Review Summary

CyberGhost VPN is an excellent VPN provider choice. Looking at their policy, and the fact that they allow all P2P traffic on nearly all servers, you may rank them as your number one VPN provider if you do a lot of P2P downloading or torrenting.

Their software has features that put them on par with the top of the line software available anywhere, with the addition of a fun animation that makes the experience that much more interesting. The exceptional privacy allowed to them because of their location in Romania also has them as a top-tier VPN privacy provider, on par with Private Internet Access.

Features

Cyberghost VPN have real features built into their custom VPN client. This includes a killer VPN kill switch, stateful failover, and a cute animation for their server switching. Besides these common VPN features they also can block ads, blocking malicious content, and stopping online tracking.

Everything is designed to function with one-click, making your use of the client enjoyable and easy. They don’t like to keep anyone guessing!
cyberghost vpn software
A big yellow button on a black background, with an arrow pointing at and a call to action; It doesn’t get much more easy than that!

The CyberGhost app automatically downloads once you click on the “Free Download” button on their website along the top. This is slightly bothersome as you may feel like you don’t have control over what’s downloading.

The actual download of the software takes slightly longer than other VPN apps, but the difference is only an additional 60 – 90 secondsr. Our download took 3 minutes, where most take around 2. Installing it on a Mac OSX involves opening the downloaded file from Finder, and simply doing the drag and drop into the Applications folder action.
cyberghost vpn client setup
Setting up CyberGhost’s app is as simple as any other we’ve tested. Only one major gripe: once you open the software for the first time you have a pop-up advertising their newsletter. You can choose to subscribe, or not see this again.

Once you get past this you will be using the best looking app we have seen from any VPN service provider. You have three buttons on the main screen: one for the country you want to virtually be in, one for the server you want, and a big yellow button in the middle to connect. The software could not be any simpler to use, and it has fun animations that add to the unique experience.

CyberGhost VPN has a truly world-class app that is worth a download just to see how it works, and could be used by anyone without problems.

Servers & Countries

CyberGhost has over 7,400 servers across 91 countries, as of June 2021. As the company is based in Romania, a haven for Internet privacy, it has a large number of servers in Romania, as well as the nearby Netherlands and Germany. This makes connecting to its service exceptionally fast for Europeans, as so many VPN providers focus on the USA. Some of the countries where CyberGhost servers are located are:

  • Canada
  • USA
  • Spain
  • France
  • UK
  • Hong Kong
  • Japan


The provider claims that it is constantly expanding to other locations and countries. As a matter of fact, its website shows more than 400 new servers.

Reliability & Speed Tests

CyberGhost VPN features excellent speed, surfing the Internet feels as quick as without their service. In comparison to other VPN services, it feels roughly the same as the other top-rated service. To look at the numbers, here is the speed of the connection used with a 2Mbps cap imposed upon it on the day of testing: cyberghost vpn speed test 

Here is the speed of that same connection on one of CyberGhost’s German servers: cyberghost vpn speed test europe 

This compares well with Private Internet Access, another VPN provider that could get past caps, in terms of surfing speed. When it comes to downloading in a P2P setting, the results are also above average. Downloads happened at about 10-15% higher a rate than without a VPN service. After days of testing, switching servers, and trying to get the service to fail, one dropped connection occurred. Establishing a reconnection proved difficult, until the switch was made to a different server within the same country. The server was likely too busy for another connection, and no further problems were encountered. After weeks of testing, the CyberGhost VPN connection will fail around three times a week on average. Their killswitch technology protects you when this happens as it kills your entire Internet connection so you can close programs you don’t want leaking. All you have to do is connect to a different server once you’re ready. The app itself experienced no crashes or other bugs.

Pricing & Payments

The price of CyberGhost’s monthly subscription plan hasn’t changed much over the years, but the company updated its packages. It currently has four pricing plans based on longevity of the purchase:

  • $2.50/month, billed every three years
  • $3.69/month, billed every two years
  • $5.25/month, billed yearly
  • $12.99/month, billed monthly

pricing plan cyberghost vpn review Each service plan is the same in terms of features, but discounts are given for your commitment to the company’s service. You also get to enjoy a 45-day money-back guarantee with any of these plans.

Support

CyberGhost’s customer support comes in the following forms:

    • Email support and tickets: We recommend using these channels if you encounter technical issues. Response times are very quick, especially if you’re in a European time zone. Those in North America or other time zones may experience a delay in the responses since they may be messaging the staff at odd hours. Regardless of your location, the responses are thorough and accurate. Just make sure that you include important details in your email or ticket so that the support team will have enough information to provide a solution.
    • FAQ and guides: The FAQ and guides offered by Cyberghost are very extensive and rich in information, so you may want to consult these resources first before reaching out to the customer support team. Both channels contain solutions for the most common issues and questions.
    • Live chat: The CyberGhost live chat support is available during standard business hours for Europe. Both English and Dutch languages are supported, something no other VPN provider does! You can expect the usual level of support with live chat—it’s general knowledge, but it’s better to ask via email for complex issues.

The above channels are for your technical assistance. They also have dedicated email addresses for sales, public relations, and customer feedback.

Policies & Logging

CyberGhost VPN has a no logging policy on all traffic. They keep some data for 24 hours for statistical purposes, but delete it at the end of each day. Requests have been made of them by German officials for their logs and for user activity, but since they kept no logs they could not comply.

A quote from their privacy policy:

“In order to improve the quality of the service, we store data such as the utilization degree of the servers. However, we do not store statistical data, which can be linked to a user account.”

Their Transparency Report also offers further insight into their operation:

“The company has not and could not in any circumstance provide user data to those who request it, because this would be in breach of CyberGhost VPN’s mission to protect its users, and because no user data records exist.”

CyberGhost VPN places absolutely no limits on any type of traffic, with no logs being kept they would be unable to anyway. To comply with laws, P2P file sharing is not allowed on their servers in the USA, Russia, Singapore and Hong Kong (China). This may sound like a problem, but it isn’t – just switch to a different server country!

There is, of course, the restriction that illegal activities not be carried out. This can include calling for violent acts, offences against sexual self-determination, and computer criminal actions.

Expert Recommendation

CyberGhost VPN are definitely a top 5 VPN provider. Reading their privacy policy, and the fact that they do allow p2p and torrenting traffic on nearly all servers, you may rank them as your top choice for a VPN if you do a lot of downloading.

Their software has features, like their killswitch, that put them on par with the top of the line VPN clients available. For fun, they also have a cute the animation that makes the experience that much more pleasant. They also benefit from being located in Romania as this country is well known for online privacy rights.

What’s holding them back from the top spot is their connections do drop slightly more often than we’d like, otherwise they might be #1. Their VPN Kill Switch does save you from being exposed, but no problems would be better than a solution to a problem. For the price you pay for their VPN service, one of the lowest in the industry, and all the features of their software, you can’t go wrong when you choose CyberGhost as your VPN provider.

CyberGhost User Reviews

4.4
Rated 4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5 stars (based on 617 reviews)
Excellent67%
Very good20%
Average3%
Poor2%
Terrible8%

Brilliant

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2021

Brilliant, quick and reliable

Mark Goddard

So far so good..

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2021

So far so good… Easy interface and very user friendly…

Venici

total lifesaver

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2021

Cyberghost has been a lifesaver for me. Given the amount of time I spend on my computer, using their service to protect myself from cyberbullying and other malicious online users was essential. Their speedy connection is perfect for streaming content too! Plus they have excellent customer support that will go out of their way to help you with any issue as long as possible — in just one email exchange, they helped me solve an issue nobody else could figure out over several days’ worth of correspondence!

Jasmin

A 5 Star Review from a Real Person!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2021

Cyberghost has simplified my life in more ways than one. I have had nothing but a positive experience with them and their products, whether it’s the software or customer service. Cyberghost is always available to help you when needed; this includes CS reps who are both knowledgeable about the product as well as friendly people that make me feel welcomed every time they’re speaking to me! The VPN itself functions smoothly without any interruptions and there isn’t much of an issue finding servers for streaming media either – especially if you go into settings on your desktop application where custom IPs were made specifically for these purposes! Overall, Cyberghost makes sure everything runs according to expectations: from start-to-finish great job guys 🙂

Warren Black

Phenomenal

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2021

CyberGhost is a phenomenal VPN. They have solid connection, work well with Amazon abroad, and are fantastic for Netflix as well!

Tommy

Works perfectly

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2021

Works perfectly doesn’t slow my surfing down. Great value for what I get.

Richard Moody

Solid connection

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2021

Solid connection. Works with Amazon abroad. no problems. Good with Netflix too.

Tom McAdams

Great software

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2021

Great software. Very easy to use.

Anthony

Nice work

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2021

Quick, Professional and friendly. To continue :-))

Marc Audin

Cyberghost provides exactly the service…

Rated 5 out of 5
June 30, 2021

Cyberghost provides exactly the service according to my expectations when it comes to a VPN service. The service runs smoothly and fast, the special optimized IPs for streaming are a blessing. The support is extremely good, efficient and the staffers polite, motivated and friendly. Currently I had an issue with the desktop app in combination with my new Internet line. The Cyberghost support patiently and successfully kept looking for a solution over a period of several days. I know a full star review always smells a bit fishy but this is a real review written by a very happy customer.Addendum,thank you Cyberghost for your kind reply. You deserve a full star rating.

Sven Sven

Nice!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 30, 2021

it’s very good my ping from 300k to 100 but the free trial is too short

bhnikol

Watch Out for Auto-Renewal

Rated 3 out of 5
June 30, 2021

The first I heard about my subscription being up for renewal after 3 years was a notification from my bank that they had taken another 3 years money. I would have liked to have had some kind of notice, a chance to look around. So not happy and have now found how to cancel the next such payment in 2024. I would probably have renewed and given a higher 4 star rating without the unwelcome shock of the auto-renewal I hadn’t realised existed.Works OK a lot of the time but issues with Google searches – capcha puzzles forever, and a few other sites. I have to use a different browser outside the VPN for those. On the other hand most of the time I am protected for a reasonable price. Sometimes a website will report I am in a random location – Amazon tell me I’ve logged in from Germany. I’ve not found the technical support particularly helpful on the few times I’ve contacted them. It is what it is, an OK VPN that protects your online devices and judging from reviews, does a better job than most for less money. My guess is spammers and scammers are using the service to hide themselves – hence the Google issues – deal with them.I just noticed you have removed the ability to specify a particular server, just a city. Bad move. I could previously pick a city or a server so it is a service degradation however you spin it. Some customers don’t want their “experience streamlined”. Listen to what customers want – did anyone ask for this? No, because they always had the choice. Don’t listen to those who think they know what the customer wants but are just guessing.

Paul R

Not really happy with this on a number…

Rated 3 out of 5
June 30, 2021

Not really happy with this on a number of levels. I cant access certain websites with it on, including financial ones. I have to have it turned off, and one of the main reasons I wanted a VPN was for security when doing business online!!! Every time I try to get support on the dashboard it says there is an error sending, try again later! I can’t play Amazon Prime Videos when it’s on. Very disappointed

Helen Frankenthal

Awesome product at a great price..

Rated 5 out of 5
June 29, 2021

Awesome product at a great price… Loving it!!

Neal

following a connection problem

Rated 5 out of 5
June 29, 2021

following a connection problem, ultra fast response and especially very good simple explanations to solve the problemwell done

Annie Tourneux

Incredible customer support

Rated 5 out of 5
June 28, 2021

My experience with Cyberghost’s customer support was simply the best I ever had. Immediate response, the CyberGhost team was very dedicated and creative in its way of dealing with my peculiar request. 11/10.

Mathias

this works very well a lot better than…

Rated 5 out of 5
June 28, 2021

this works very well a lot better than all the rest

Steven Hughes

Works well

Rated 5 out of 5
June 28, 2021

Works well. What else to be said?

T Willi Took

Great service overall!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 27, 2021

Overall, CyberGhost is great Highly recommend!

Darrell H.

Its a nice bit of software but legacy systems unsupported.

Rated 1 out of 5
June 27, 2021

Its a nice bit of software, so long as you are using the latest O/S of either windows or MAC. Anything not up-top date is not supported and there is no refund if you are suddenly made obsolete. Be aware! So if that last bit happens- you are NOT entitled to a refund as mentioned below in their response as you are outside the 45 day window.

crispin hodges

wery good

Rated 5 out of 5
June 27, 2021

a very good program, I have been using it for 3 years and it will never let me down. I’ve tested other programs before, but I consider CyberGhost to be the best

Dominik

I have been using CyberGhost VPN for a short time.

Rated 5 out of 5
June 27, 2021

I have been using CyberGhost VPN for only a short time, but I have found it very user-friendly.The speed is very good compared to my last VPN, which was Surfshark.I will need to use it longer to give a more detailed review, but so far so good.

Martin Mcgrory

4years and counting.....…

Rated 5 out of 5
June 26, 2021

I’ve been using CyberGhost VPN for 4 years, having previously used various other VPN’s. CG VPN has been the most reliable, Quickest and by far the easiest. Transferring form one P.C. to another is just a matter of re-installing and signing in…. easy!It does exactly what it says on the tin without any down time or problems and as long as it stays reasonable on price I will continue to use it.I use it on 2 computers and my phone and I’ve yet to find any problems at all.I can whole-heartedly recommend it it to all.

GRAHAM CROFT

Best VPN Service Around

Rated 5 out of 5
June 25, 2021

Super noob when it comes to VPNs, but this company made it easy. Speeds were faster than I was expecting. Did research between the big VPN names and cyberghost VPN always came up as an alternative good option to the big names. Super glad I went with them. Better price for equal or better service.

Wylin

I use the Cyberghost VPN to protect my…

Rated 5 out of 5
June 25, 2021

I use the Cyberghost VPN to protect my computer data and to watch news and TV programs in different parts of the world. The VPN is real easy to operateand there is no buffering . The price is very reasonable and you can alwaysdepend on Cyberghost.

Pierre Beauregard

Love the service and how easy its to…

Rated 5 out of 5
June 25, 2021

Love the service and how easy its to connect without any issues.

Frances

Great VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
June 25, 2021

Great VPN, fair price and easy to use. Highly recommend.

Andrey

very good service and very fast…

Rated 5 out of 5
June 25, 2021

very good service and very fast internet speed

adrian rover

Powerful yet simple

Rated 5 out of 5
June 24, 2021

One of the simplest, yet most powerful VPN’s out there, that caters to all your browsing needs, while ensuring the best possible protection and safety. Highly recommend for novice and expert users. Their service is super friendly. Oh, and their prices are amazing!

Max

Simple, quick, nice.

Rated 5 out of 5
June 24, 2021

Simple, quick, nice.Haven’t used it for long, but don’t need to. Familiar with VPN principles, I fancied a change and did some research. This seemed to fit the bill for particular requirements according to some detailed tech reviews.Easy account set-up and install. Straightforward interface, slick implementation, quick connection, enough options for decent customisation, but not too many to draw over-experimentation with mystical aspects. No complaints so far. Always on the lookout for problems, though, so we’ll see!So far, so good.

TS

I like the fact that I can go around…

Rated 5 out of 5
June 23, 2021

I like the fact that I can go around unnoticed in the web.

Francisco

awesome

Rated 5 out of 5
June 23, 2021

love this app!

helenee

Efficace

Rated 5 out of 5
June 23, 2021

Efficace, simple, que dire de plus …

Rault

rock on

Rated 5 out of 5
June 23, 2021

rock on great easy simple fast and private

The One Ring

A great VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
June 22, 2021

CyberGhost is one of the best VPNs I ever used. As much as I liked WindScribe, they had issues, specifically speed. Compared to other VPNs I tried, CyberGhost was faster, had more or the same amount of servers, and connected without issue. Try them!

Christopher C

Easy to understand!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 22, 2021

Well, I’ve used a couple of other vpn services and I found this one my favorite. I think it’s easy to understand (for an older guy like me), it’s very inexpensive, and I haven’t had any problems with cyberghost. Thanks!

Freddie Williams

The bast

Rated 5 out of 5
June 21, 2021

✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌

Safaa

Speedy VPN for a fair price

Rated 5 out of 5
June 21, 2021

In my experience the service is very speedy, and for the price I pay in a monthly subscription offers a lot. Good choice of service and seamless transition. Been with CyberGhost for several years now, very satisfied.

Dom

I love your app

Rated 5 out of 5
June 20, 2021

I love your app. It gives me freedom.

Michael Bracey

Sometimes I want privacy and I feel as…

Rated 5 out of 5
June 20, 2021

Sometimes I want privacy and I feel as though i get it with CyberGhost.

7beauties7

Works as it should

Rated 5 out of 5
June 20, 2021

Works as it should. No complaints.

Lester Kennedy

My VPN reference number 238652665

Rated 1 out of 5
June 20, 2021

I purchased my VPN reference number 238652665 which isn’t working and I am in unable to login or resolve the issue. Unable to chat or even email my problem.

Arup

Love your VPN service

Rated 5 out of 5
June 19, 2021

Love your VPN service. I especially like the ease with which I can select a server almost anywhere in the world. The CyberGhost icon is always in my Windows tray and It only takes a couple of clicks to connect it, so I’m quickly protected if I want to hide my IP. It just couldn’t be easier.By the way, I haven’t had a single problem with the program since I installed it several years ago. I would recommend it unreservedly!

John Oliver

Great VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
June 19, 2021

It’s a Great VPN, I have been using it for about 8 years. Started with the free version and finally moved onto the paid version in 2019. Quite satisfied with what is offered and how it works which is why I decided to buy it. Overall the software/program is easy to use and navigate.

S H

Works with Netflix, Prime, and Disney+!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 19, 2021

I’ve been searching for a VPN that worked with all my streaming subscriptions, and I finally found CyberGhost. Very easy to use and it has worked reliably for the past 2 weeks! They’re the best!!

Ricky A

the app is awesome

Rated 5 out of 5
June 18, 2021

the app is awesome! it would be nice to see extra extension on Brave browser

yasniel

Fast reliable VPN service

Rated 5 out of 5
June 18, 2021

Fast reliable VPN service with competitive pricing, 10/10.

Jason

Fast and secure usage of VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
June 17, 2021

Fast and secure usage of VPN. Keep it up!

Patrick

Cyber Ghost VPN works for me

Rated 4 out of 5
June 17, 2021

I’ve been using Cyber Ghost VPN for about a year and have been pleased with its performance.

MD Lusky

Five stars is not enough

Rated 5 out of 5
June 16, 2021

I’ve been using Cyberghost to watch TV feeds from continental Europe while being ‘locked-down’ to watch road cycling, tennis and Formula 1. I’ve had no drop-outs, buffering or lost signal once during that time. And all for the equivalent of about 45p a week. I could say “not bad”… but that would be underselling the usefulness of Cyberghost. Five stars is not enough.

Tony

Submit Your Review For IPVanish