Surfshark VPN Review

4.2
Rated 4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5 stars (based on 100 reviews)

This Surfshark VPN review should have given you the idea that they are indeed a capable VPN provider. The quality of the server network is above average, and they have great features included.

Surfshark VPN Review Summary

Based in the British Virgin Islands, and founded in 2018, Surfshark is a VPN which shows great promise. With a server network of over 800 in 50+ countries, they built something impressive in such a short amount of time. Their VPN client is easy to use and looks good, while their pricing is decent.

They also have a great website which is easy to navigate, as well as being filled with lots of useful information. This all sounds great, but we’re hesitant about how much they’ve built in such a short amount of time when they will not divulge who owns their VPN. Sharing a little more information would go a long way to seeing them join our Top 10 VPN Providers list.

Surfshark VPN Features

Our Surfshark VPN review should make it quite clear that this VPN is not lacking features:

  • No logging policy of all online activity
  • Support for IKEv2 and OpenVPN encryption protocols
  • AES 256-GCM encryption
  • Automatic kill switch
  • Cleanweb, their ad and tracker-blocking tool
  • Whitelister, allows apps to bypass the VPN connection
  • DNS leak protection
  • Multi-hop capabilities
  • Supports torrenting
  • Camouflage Mode

This last feature, Camouflage Mode, warrants a little more discussion. This feature is purported to make it so that your ISP won’t know that you’re using a VPN, which could be helpful if you feel that your ISP is throttling you while using it (though we haven’t heard of this), or if you just want an extra step of privacy.

We have no complaints about their feature set. They have all of the standard features of a quality VPn, plus a little extra of their own design.

Surfshark SERVERS & COUNTRIES

With over 800 server in 50+ countries, there’s no mistaking the fact that they have an above-average network. Here’s a look at all of their servers at the time of testing:

  • Europe: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK
  • Eastern Europe: Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine
  • Americas: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, USA
  • Africa/Middle East: South Africa, Turkey
  • Asia Pacific: Australia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, India, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

This is quite an impressive number of countries, and they have the server numbers to back up everything. With just a little more effort on their end to up their overall server numbers, we will consider putting them on our list of the best VPNs for global geo-unblocking.

Reliability & Speed Tests

Surfshark are very open about what to expect speed-wise with their servers, but offer no concrete promises with numbers. In their FAQ they address that they have:

  • No speed limits
  • No bandwidth limits
  • No data limits

These are all great things, but we’d like to see them show data on their server uptime percentages, as well as make a claim of their server speeds. The best VPNs know exactly how fast their servers are, with 1 Gigabit being the upper limits right now, and openly state it.

Pricing and Payments

In addition to a limited free trial, Surfshark offers three payment plans

  • One-month plan: $11.95/month
  • One-year plan: $5.99/month
  • Two-year plan: $1.99/month

This is, to be honest, one of the more bizarre pricing strucutres we’ve seen. Their monthly plan is in the middle range, the yearly plan is on the more expensive side, and their two-year plan is very low. We’re not sure whether or not to put them on our Best Cheap Providers list just yet due to these odd discrepancies, and how we don’t favor terms over one year.

They accept PayPal, credit cards, Alipay, Bitcoin and other cryptocurrency, and Google Pay.

Support

The support on offer from Surfshark is pretty good. We used their live chat with no issue, getting a response in seconds from someone who was warm, and looking to help as best as they could. Thanks, Dom!

The live chat is, as always, better suited to simpler questions and tasks. If you need real support, for something technical, you’re better off using one of these options:

  • Help Center: This should be your first step as they have documented a number of common issues, from billing to connecting routers, in one place.
  • VPN Tutorials: This section is a bit thin on content. The goal is to show you all the ways to install their client, but it doesn’t cover everything yet.
  • FAQ: This can be found both in the Help Center and in the footer on its own. There are a total of 32 articles here, which is a bit thin.
  • Contact form: The “Contact Us” page has space for text, and we really like that it allows for attachments so you can send screenshots of your exact issue.

We were happy with their live chat and Help Center, but we feel that they need to offer a little bit more to really stack up against the best VPNs in the business.

POLICIES & LOGGING

The legal team over at Surfshark have put together some rather thorough policies on logging, privacy, and the operation of their company. These are all covered by two documents:

  • Privacy policy: This is where they cover exactly what they log, which is just your email address, encrypted password, and basic billing data. They use cookies to track site performance, as well as Google Analytics. They do not share your information with any third-party which isn’t directly involved with your account, and only offer the bare minimum needed. They also state that the will follow the laws of the British Virgin Islands, which are rather favourable to privacy.
  • Terms of service: They clearly outline their no-log policy here. They do not collect your IP address, browsing activity, any session information, the bandwidth you use, connection time stamps for starting or stopping the use of their VPN, network traffic, or any other similar data points. They also state that since they record no activity on their service, that the user is responsible for themselves if they break any law, and they go into great detail about not using their service to break any laws. You will also find a section on their “Fair Use Policy,” which is an automated system which detects and limits those using an excessive number of devices through one account.

These are all very reasonable policies, and we’re glad to see how much effort they put into building these documents.

They also discuss their refund policy, which covers 30 days after purchase. After those 30 days you may still cancel your account, but no refunds will be given for the remaining amount.

Expert Recommendation

This Surfshark VPN review should have given you the idea that they are indeed a capable VPN provider. The quality of the server network is above average, and they have great features included. There is no way to knock their policies at all as they are rock solid, thorough, and presented well. They are a solid VPN provider.

We have not yet placed them amongst our top providers as they still have a little work to do on getting more servers. Those at the top of our Best VPN Provider list have over a thousand, or thousands in some cases, VPN servers at their command. With a little more effort, Surfshark could find themselves at that level!

Surfshark VPN User Reviews

4.2
Rated 4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5 stars (based on 100 reviews)
Excellent62%
Very good17%
Average9%
Poor6%
Terrible6%

Must have

Rated 5 out of 5
December 27, 2019

I have been using surfshark for a month now and i have nothing but good things to say, as far as service goes, app is stable on windows and android, it sometimes hangs up on start up but the kill switch is good, just have to reselect the server you want to use, very good for such a new company.

GT

Good for streaming

Rated 4 out of 5
December 24, 2019

I got it specifically for streaming. It works with Netflix, BBC and few other of my favourites. I did use other providers before but Surfshark seems to keep more stable speed for me so streaming works better.

Bell

Easy to use and fully developed

Rated 5 out of 5
July 30, 2019

Surfshark stands out on how easy it is to use. It masks your IP, encrypts the traffic, provides online security with their CleanWeb feature, – all the necessary components for a fully developed VPN. All one click away, comfortable.

Isaac

The best value for price and quality...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 30, 2019

The best value for price and quality I’ve tried

Ello Sequeira

Good product at a good price

Rated 5 out of 5
July 30, 2019

I did not feel safe before I started using Surfshark VPN. It is a good feeling to know that I cannot be tracked. Thank you Surfshark.

Crane, Andrew

Surfshark VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
July 29, 2019

Anyone online needs a vpn for their cyber protection after using surfshark for several months I can highly recommend it especially for those that are a little tec challenge with its white list to let you decided what you want to run through a vpn and with unlimited device sign on you can keep all your devices secure it’s value to cost can’t be beat if your looking for a vpn try this one you wouldn’t be disappointed 5 ⛤⛤⛤⛤⛤ all the way

Os-Z

Wish I knew before about surfshark

Rated 5 out of 5
July 29, 2019

First off i never new of VPN never mind Surf Shark. Someone told me about it as a means to see things when away. I was sceptical and had to wait to get to Tobago to test out just how good it was and i was not disappointed. Very easy to use even for a technophobe. Very satisfied indeed. Also cost effective with the current offer price I received. Would recommend to anyone.

Steve Hudson

Easy to use,reliable ,good value

Rated 5 out of 5
July 29, 2019

Easy to use,reliable ,good value

Seve Dpicer

Great but not perfect

Rated 4 out of 5
July 28, 2019

I gave 4 star for one reason. I have a windows computer and a Mac. Although I can get everything on the widows computer the Mac is a different story. At first I thought it was the site that wouldn’t load but when I turned Surfshark off the site was fine. It wouldn’t be a problem but I use the Mac for everything. When I see this problem fixed I will give it a 5 star

John Repash

My experience so far has been...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 28, 2019

My experience so far has been excellent. Great selection of country servers available. So far none of them are blocked by the websites on the sites I use; I hope it will stay like this. Their app selection is great. I use Mac, iOS, Linux and Chrome Extension (this is rarely found on other VPN providers). I must say the Linux app could use a redesign as it is only a text/terminal based app at the moment.

On

Great service

Rated 5 out of 5
July 28, 2019

Great service! Fast and reliable. Has whitelisting to identify sites exempt from the VPN. Allows simultaneous connections from all of my devices, (LAN, phones, computers, & tablets). Compared 10 different services when I selected Surfshark, and it offered more than all the others for a reasonable cost. Recommend it with no reservations!

Don Erisman

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 28, 2019

After a week i am very happy, does what i want. I suppose the speed of servers further than the “closest server” will improve as the service gets more popular and bigger. At the moment it is not viable to use a server other than your closest. With my closest and fastest server i lose +- 35% of my speed but I still like it.

Bertus Bonthuizen

It appears to work for me

Rated 5 out of 5
July 27, 2019

It appears to work for me. It is fast depending where you connect. Is easy to use and least expensive VPN I compared. It may be underrated. I don’t need all the whistles and bells. It is fast and easy to use. I checked for leaks from the tests I found and I don’t appear to have any. I wanted a VPN to keep from being profiled by big tech and security not to do anything illegal. I’m not a VPN or internet security expert so I’ll leave that to them and Kaspersky. Picking Surfshark was a leap of faith and I haven’t regretted it yet. PS tech support is by email and their response was quick.

Grif

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 27, 2019

Have tried 4 other Vpn. Surfshark is, in my humble opinion, easiest to use, with least loss of speed.

WS

The Jaws overall

Rated 5 out of 5
July 26, 2019

Honestly, I would give Surfshark 4 1/2 stars, as it is not the perfect VPN, but pretty darn near close to it. The only reason I say this is because like other VPN’s, your bandwidth and downloads speeds are cut back to some extent, depending on where your location of VPN service that you draw from. I am also using another top-tiered VPN service, both that I have now used for the past 10 months, of which I can honestly compare apples to apples with. I consistently find that Surfshark is faster without a doubt, especially as I use my wireless desktop and laptop. I appreciate the regular and helpful newsletters that they send out, much of which I have learned more about VPN’s, security and safety while cruising around online. I know that there are a plethora VPN’s to choose from out there, at first so overwhelming as I was trying to choose from many. That is why I have two of them, mainly to “dare and compare”, and I can honestly tell you that Surfshark consistently comes out on top for my online surfing, and literally taking a big bite out of it’s competition. I hope my review gives you something to chew on, and I would wholeheartedly renew with them when that times comes.

Ken Hornbeck

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
July 26, 2019

Overall everything seems to be working great. only issue is that it is killing my battery life (pixel 3). i understand this might be the price i pay for an app thats always on but wondered if there’s anything else I can do?

Rob Boardman

SurfShark great all around VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
July 26, 2019

I’ve been using the service for about 2months now everything seems great no issues.
I switch from nordvpn and wouldn’t look back, p2p speeds of 7mb

Rik Langley

I'm using it for a while now and never...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 26, 2019

im using it for a while now and never let me down

Sir Sivy

Very good for the cost

Rated 5 out of 5
July 25, 2019

Very good for the cost

Andrew Bent

Surfshark takes quite a long time to...

Rated 4 out of 5
July 25, 2019

Surfshark takes quite a long time to load on my Windows 10. On my phone it’s almost instantaneous. But I’m disappointed how long it takes to load on Windows.

Al

Excellent Value

Rated 5 out of 5
July 25, 2019

Excellent value, great for streaming, connections very good.

Ken Crockett

The VPN works but cuts my internet

Rated 3 out of 5
July 25, 2019

The VPN works but cuts my internet speed in half from 60mbps to 30mbps. The interface is good and fairly easy to use once you get used to it. It has an odd way of fixing itself by automatically installing itself again but it works. We tested most of the pay versions and this one was the best value.

Steve S.

Top VPN and it's not just me that says it

Rated 5 out of 5
July 25, 2019

Download the program, pay your fees and then forget about it for two years. It works seamlessly on my PC, Samsung Tablet, and two Samsung phones,,,,,all for one subscription. I’ve checked my location through the IP address shown and I’ve been to Germany, France, and Belgium all in the same hour. This is my first VPN but, with one this user friendly, good support and a very good price, I didn’t look any further.

David Burns

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 25, 2019

I used different vpn apps for years. This is one of the best vpn services I used. May be it slowed down the speed some what but all other vpn apps do the same, may be it is better in that aspect compared to others. The customer support is perfect and really it is a terrific service on both desktop and mobile.

Ashraf Ismail

The only downside is you have to...

Rated 4 out of 5
July 24, 2019

The only downside is you have to disable surfshark to be able to send emails.

Richard Steep

I trust surfshark

Rated 5 out of 5
July 24, 2019

I trust Surfshark. After comparing the features offered on Surfshark, and eliminating those below Surfshark’s basic offerings. I then compared yearly costs for those Companies that I felt were still in the running. And finally going thru 25 reviews from the final 5 finalists. I felt Surfshark rated by far to be the best compared to Security and Safety, Price, and current Customer reviews.

Cleta K. Kearbey

Perfect for torrents

Rated 5 out of 5
July 24, 2019

Just as you recommended – I’ve used this VPN for torrenting and have no complaints whatsoever. Not a very legal use case but it does what it’s supposed to and that’s my only concern. Haven’t had the honour to meet the copyright police yet.

Josh

Mostly working VPN

Rated 3 out of 5
July 24, 2019

The mobile app works great, but the desktop app won’t even startup, meaning I can’t use the VPN on computers and I can’t give more stars till this issue is fixed.

Marc Weller

Surfshark review

Rated 2 out of 5
July 23, 2019

Sometimes when the vpn is on it still does not connect here in China. The page for chat does not work most of the time and I can’t get into my email. I am going back to Lanternpro., which is more reliable.

Greg Haney

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
July 23, 2019

Very fast on Windows PC, but I have been having problems with the app on my Android phone. Since the last update it disconnets at least once a day and I need to reset the phone, clear app’s cache or reset network settings to connect again. But when it is working, it is fast. No complain there. And I heard other more pricey VPNs are working even worse in China these days so it is not that bad. I will see how it will work after today’s update.

Tomasz S

I was disappointed with Surf Shark

Rated 1 out of 5
July 21, 2019

Surf Shark is not very good. Surfshark collects IP addresses from your computer and other devices from websites. And collect various error reports. (Metadata Risks) When you use our app, we may collect advertising identifiers – unique, user-resettable IDs for advertising, – Surfshark privacy policy And they also collect cookies. This policy is dangerous. I also have frequent disconnects and occasionally slow experiences. I could never recommend Surfshark.

Kevin

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
July 17, 2019

Really frustrated with this app, I’ve generally had few issues with Surfshark, but the mobile app is genuinely horrendous, needing to be force closed to disconnect properly, and consistently signing me out of my account for no apparent reason. Surfshark, please fix this dumpster fire of an app.

Schrodinger

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2019

Loving it… Sometimes it have hiccups or else it’s great. Edit: I just want to let the developers in my place Voip calls are barred so I use vpn for calls but after using this VPN I can’t use Facetime calls and I get recurring reconnection messages… Or else it’s an awesome vpn.

Shamim Azad

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2019

so pleased with this VPN. easy to use and best value around, two years for less than some charge for one year. brilliant

Hunglikeahorse fly

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
July 15, 2019

The app works very well, service and support is quite good, they responded promptly. The devs did a good.

Rob S

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 14, 2019

under $50 for 2 years! plus a truly no log company located in an optimal country. Fast servers and nice extras, easy app. Simply the best

JP

Perfect Privacy VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
July 13, 2019

The VPN is really amazing! I’m happy with it. It lacks on android notification to connect/disconnect but yeah, else fine. And i would like it to cut VPN connection too when screen-off and re-connect to VPN when screen-on to save battery, else when not using phone it drains A LOT of battery (~2.5-3.0%/h screen-off)

Paprika

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
July 13, 2019

Ive given 3 stars because this app currently does not auto connect to an android tv box connected through an ethernet cable. I have been in contact with their support team who tell me this is something they are looking at so, hopefully, it will sorted in future updates. Apart from this issue I am happy with perfirmance etc.

Tony Farrell

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 12, 2019

Quickly connects to server of choice. Good data speeds. No problems using this app on Samsung S9+. Great success using Surfshark on my iPads, Mac, and PCs. Works well with Netflix out of various countries. I am very pleased with the service.

Adam Kornegay

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 11, 2019

Works great on my PC but on my Samsung Galaxy S10+ and my Android tv Box when connected to wifi, it just keeps on connecting without establishing a connection to a server. I have tried numerous different servers with exactly the same result. Bug has been sorted out. Thanks to the support team for your assistance. Works now on all my devices.

Gerrie Pienaar

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
July 9, 2019

hi. i have already paid and subscribed for a year. But i was logged out from the app. when i logged in, it asked me to subscribe and pay back again. could you please resolve this.

Zaiyad Zaiyad

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 7, 2019

Outstanding VPN Svc — The subscription fee is a steal! Excellent App. PLUS — a peace of mind that exceeds all expectations! And in the unlikely event you need to use it — a 1st rate tech support/service operation via Chat. Great English, good writing skills, and they won’t let go until the problem is solved. Period! NO rediculous flowery chit chat. NO thank you for nothing. NO Phillipines. No Nicaragua. NO BS!

Alan Shute

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 5, 2019

This is awesome, VPN at it’s finest, Surfshark was already awesome when K started using it but as time goes it gets better and better and new features keep coming in, this is awesome. Highly recommend.

Samuel Surfboard

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 5, 2019

Been using this app for 3 days. My internet plan is 70Mbs/s and I’ve consistantly been getting 60-75Mbs on Ookla Speedtest With my previous VPN I was lucky to get 40, and was usually in the in the 20-25 range.So, all of you people thinking of signing up – FORGET IT!!!! I don’t want you all signing up and screwing up my speed. 😆😆😆

Steve Bedard

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 4, 2019

The app is amazing in terms of easy and functionality. The VPN itself is more than great I get to speeds around 60Mbps that’s my IPS limit anyways so it definitely would go higher if I had better contract with my ISP. Connection never drops outs, always stable. The filtering of the ads at the VPN level is a big bonus and I also can white list applications to bypass vpn or vise versa to always route through VPN. You also get emails about how to improve your privacy and security.

Niko K

Five stars for the speed

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2019

So far this VPN gave me the best speeds even while connecting to moderately distant countries. Also, their apps work smoothly and look clean with all important information at the front. I mostly use it on my Windows PC and Android.

Muse

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
June 23, 2019

Does not work for netflix on Android TV (version 8, Oreo) on a Sony XE90. Netflix says that I use a blocker or proxy when I try a couple of different US connection points. So this is totally unusable for the only thing you would use it for on a TV : unblocking of streaming TV-content. In addition to this the speeds from US connection points are abysmal from Sweden in Europe. Around 12 megabit down at best(with a 60 megabit connection measured 59 megabits without VPN). Not enough for Netflix 4k. Advice to anybody jumping on the 24 month subscription temptation: Don’t! You get what you pay for : Subpar service that won’t deliver on their promises like Netflix unblocked or high speeds that make the same US netflix work anyway!

Magnus Loov

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
June 23, 2019

UPSIDE: Multi hop, extremely helpful customer service, quick ability to bounce from just about anywhere, have been on a multi hop from UK to Germany and ip found off the coast of Africa showing that I have no VPN. very slick. DOWNSIDE: too many drops/crashes generally crashes daily basis but as long as the kill switch is active it should be ok. Whenever needed customer service is extremely fast and helpful, though.

Cheryl Love

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 15, 2019

Does the job and comes with a few special bespoke features I saw only with surfshark. Servers could be more in number compared to other providers but more than enough for me. I like the apps they use and my limited encounter with customer service was pleasant experience. Overall really good value. Some of the vpns are just steal and comes with no additional perks. Recommended.

Flausbert

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 15, 2019

great application for PC or mobile use. unlimited devices is the biggest appeal. Perfect for my Nvidia Shield TV. You can select which apps & websites you want to protect & connect automatically when using wifi. Just over £40 for 2 years is well worth it.

Keith McIndoe

Submit Your Review For Surfshark