Windscribe VPN Review

3.7
Rated 3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5 stars (based on 151 reviews)

Windscribe’s firewall feature prevents any IP and DNS leaks. It also claims that this firewall is better than the kill switch feature of most VPN providers since the firewall prevents any traffic from going out of the encrypted tunnel.

Windscribe VPN Review Summary

Windscribe is a Canadian VPN provider that started in 2016, and is available for Windows, Android, Mac, Linux, iOS. Amazon FireTV, Kodi, and Nvidia Shield, with browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox, and Opera. At the same time, it offers pre-flashed routers through Flash Routers. This incredible variety of VPN coverages is notable.

Windscribe has both free and paid plans; the only difference is that the free tier has strict bandwidth and server limitations. Windscribe has a three-day money-back guarantee, but the provider highly encourages users to test out its VPN service with the free tier before paying for a subscription.

Windscribe VPN Features

Among the features of Windscribe that are available for all platforms are:

  • Strong encryption: Windscribe uses government-standard AES-256 cipher with SHA512 auth and a 4096-bit RSA key.
  • Simple VPN client: The VPN client has no frills and is easy to use.
  • Static IPs: To avoid nuisances (such as more captcha and the risk of being blacklisted) that come with a constantly changing IP address, you can get a static IP address at an additional cost.
  • R.O.B.E.R.T.: This is a customizable domain blocking tool. You can block or allow preset categories. You can also create custom access rules for every domain.

With this feature, you can block ads, use less data, and reduce the risk of malware. The changes you make are applied instantly to all devices, with no need for a reboot.

Windscribe review Robert feature

Windscribe has these additional features for its desktop clients:

  • Port forwarding
  • Firewall (prevents all kinds of IP leaks and acts as a kill switch)
  • Secure hotspot
  • Proxy gateway
  • Flexible connectivity

The VPN provider recommends that users also add the Windscribe browser extension while using the VPN client to take advantage of the following features:

  • Ad blocking allows you to block ads and trackers while you browse the web.
  • Cruise control automatically selects the server location for you to maximize speed and unblock geo-restricted content.
  • Double hop which allows you to route your connection to two locations within the Windscribe network. You need a desktop client to achieve this; one location will be the location that your desktop client is connected to, and the second location is the one where your browser is connected to. What websites will see is the IP of the server where your browser extension is connected to. We don’t consider this setup as a real multi-hop feature.
  • Timezone spoofing makes you appear to be in the country you’re connected to.
  • Cookie monster deletes all cookies when the tab is closed.
  • Split personality reduces the chance of basic digital fingerprinting by rotating user agent.

Note that not all of these features are available on Windscribe’s free plan. Even when you are already subscribed to a paid plan, you still have to pay an extra amount to enjoy some of these features. Please see the Pricing & Payments section for more information.

Windscribe VPN SERVERS & COUNTRIES

Windscribe has 450 servers in 110 cities in more than 60 countries. At the time of our testing though, only 144 of these servers were online. People using Windscribe’s free plan can access only 10 server locations, which include the US, Canada, UK, Hong Kong, France, and Germany.

Windscribe claims that all of its servers are physically located in countries, unlike other providers that spoof their server locations.

windscribe review geoblocking

What impresses us about Windscribe’s offering of servers is that it has servers dedicated for Netflix called Windflix servers. The Windflix servers are located in the following countries:

  • US
  • Canada
  • UK
  • Japan

If you want to access the Netflix library of these countries, you can connect to the respective Windflix servers.

If you’re thinking about torrenting, you can do so with Windscribe. As proof, Windscribe has setup guides for uTorrent, Deluge, qBittorrent, and Vuze. Note though that due to country restrictions, torrenting won’t be possible on some servers. These locations are highlighted on Windscribe’s Location Status page. See the image below; P2P is not allowed in Russia and South Africa.

Reliability & Speed Tests

Our speed test results are quite interesting. Most of the top VPN providers we have reviewed can bypass ISP speed throttling, but Windscribe wasn’t able to do the same. Here is our speed test result before connecting to Windscribe:

Windscribe Speed test before VPN

After we turned on the desktop VPN client, download speed went down, and latency went up remarkably:

Windscribe review Speed test with VPN

This is not the best performance, and was the best we could get out of them at the time of testing.

Pricing and Payments

Windscribe is available for free. You will enjoy all the basic features, but you will only get 10 GB of data each month. If you sign up without an email address, you will only get a two-gig allocation. The VPN provider has three paid plans:

  • Monthly: $9 per month, billed monthly.
  • Yearly: $4.08 per month, billed yearly.
  • Build a Plan: $1 per location per month.

The Build a Plan option comes at a minimum of $2 per month and capped at 12GB data allocation for every location. You can get an unlimited data allocation and the R.O.B.E.R.T. feature at an additional cost of $1 per month.

Static IP addresses are available on paid plans, at an additional cost of $2 per month for datacenter IP addresses, and $8 per month for residential IPs. Team accounts are also available for businesses at a monthly rate of $3 per seat.

Support

Windscribe customer support comes in different forms, including the self-help which consists of setup guides, FAQs, and a knowledge base. It’s better to consult these resources first before using the following venues:

  • Subreddit
  • Ticket
  • Live Chat
  • Email at hello@windscribe.com

Your best bets for technical support are the subreddit and ticket options, while the email address is only for general and sales-related inquiries. Although the live chat option is positioned as “Talk to Garry” (which will make you think that you are talking to a real person), it turned out that Garry is only an automated response system that sends you replies based on keywords.

Windscribe review customer support Live chat

POLICIES & LOGGING

One of the features that Windscribe boasts on its website is its no-logging policy. It does not store personally identifiable user data such as your IP address. However, Windscribe does log and store the following data to enforce the bandwidth limitation on the provider’s free tier:

  • Total amount of bytes transferred in a 30-day period.
  • Timestamp of your last activity

Aside from this data, Windscribe also logs your OpenVPN/IKEv2 username, the amount of data transferred, time of connection, and amount of data transferred while you are connected to a server. Windscribe claims that this data is automatically deleted once you disconnect. It further claims that even when authorities or third parties demand information, it will not be able to give them anything helpful because of its no-logging policy.

Windscribe Transparency review

Windscribe supports this claim through its Transparency Report page which shows the number of DMCA and law enforcement requests. The page also shows that Windscribe has not complied to any request.

Expert Recommendation

Windscribe’s firewall feature prevents any IP and DNS leaks. It also claims that this firewall is better than the kill switch feature of most VPN providers since the firewall prevents any traffic from going out of the encrypted tunnel. This is all good, except for the fact that the firewall feature is only available on Windscribe’s desktop clients. Because of this, Windscribe isn’t a safe option for VPN users who are always on their phones or tablets.

The claim of no-logging is also misleading as the company does log some information to enforce bandwidth limitations to free users. The important thing though is that this logged data is not personal and does not lead to the exposure of the user’s real identity.

If you are not a heavy VPN user, you can try Windscribe’s free tier. The VPN provider also has advanced features such as port forwarding and static IP addresses that are not commonly available in other VPN providers. Overall, Windscribe is a good provider that is worth the money if they have a particular feature or tool which matches your needs.

Windscribe VPN User Reviews

3.7
Rated 3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5 stars (based on 151 reviews)
Excellent53%
Very good14%
Average9%
Poor5%
Terrible19%

Great on Windows, lousy on iOS

Rated 2 out of 5
October 3, 2019

On Windows 10 the native app works well. The only issue I have encountered so far is that I have to turn off Windscribe when I want to use Wi-Fi printing On iOS does not work well at all. I have tried both the app and OpenVPN. The app often does not connect, giving an error on all country servers. OpenVPN often gets disconnected seconds after switching apps (e.g. from Safari to Mail), so that can´t be due to a prolonged inactivity. In any case the VPN should stay active to protect the background activity that certain apps have.

Ard

Windscribe has come a long way, and it certainly paid off!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 30, 2019

Windscribe has come a long way from when they started, I hope they stick to there guns about the zero-knowledge stance, and remain a VPN service that people can trust.
VPN services should never track, trace, or store your info, including your IP address and any data transmitted over the VPN service (No-Logs). Thats entirely the whole point of a VPN!!. If windscribe dig there heals in and continue to provide this private reliable service, they will certainly be a favorable one. At the moment, these guys are one of the best ! Keep it up, people need reliable (Non-Shady) VPN providers.

Luke

Best VPN Service

Rated 5 out of 5
July 29, 2019

These guys are not one of the big guns in the VPN world (yet!), but that just means they have to be scrappier and give better service, which perfectly describes them. And they just keep getting better!! For one thing, they support IKEv2 which is superior for mobile phones because it handles better the way mobile connections drop and hand off to the next tower etc. They also support OpenVPN, as they should. The latest version of the mobile client is a HUGE improvement! And if you email them with a technical question or problem, you may get a response from one of the founders, but no matter, what it’s quick. One thing: This service is FAST! But don’t let speed reviews control your decision. Try several for free over many days at different times. There are a ton of complicating factors that change moment to moment. In my experience these guys are the best!

Jerel2u

-

Rated 1 out of 5
July 29, 2019

This app is HORRIBLE!! I just paid for the premium, and it wont even unblock Netflix!! Ive asked for a refund, but they HAVE NOT given me one. I DO NOT want your VPNothing. Give me back my money, so I can get a better app. Only then will I remove this review.

Jack Dickinson

-

Rated 3 out of 5
July 28, 2019

I have subscribe to the one-year service, I had no trouble whatsoever during that time. I let the service expire and decided just to use the free version. I did not like the free version so I purchased another year a service and I have been having issues with slow connectivity and loss of connection. I have uninstalled and then reinstalled several times.

Rafael Acevedo

If you need a simple VPN service you should check Windscribe

Rated 4 out of 5
July 26, 2019

Pros: The servers in the free plan have a decent speed/quota for a normal browsing (you can even download torrents if you need), supports a strong stack of security protocols and it has a really user-friendly application, available for the most common platforms.
Cons: So far I have had no problems with the service whatsoever, but when I was looking for a VPN service I found something to keep in mind: it is based from Canada, so there’s a chance they are forced to give away your information to the government. The chances are slim, but they exist. For my occasional use I found that to be acceptable.
Overall: I don’t use a VPN in a daily basis, only in some ocasions when I’m out using a public connection, so I needed something that had a good free plan (decent speed and a good quota) and after testing a few VPN services, this was the one that best fitted those needs.

Verified Reviewer

-

Rated 4 out of 5
July 26, 2019

Most people expect reliability, securitý, easy to use, good support, all combined with a price anyone can access.I have tried several VPN providers and found this to be the one most compatible to my expectations. I would rate higher but I have not been a client very long and I had some setup ìssues. I would recommend to most users but would recommend using more than òne VPN

Kenneth Dunbar

A Great Option For Chromebooks

Rated 4 out of 5
July 23, 2019

Pros: I use this software with a Chromebook and it works great! It integrates right into the bottom left toolbar for ease of access without even having to open the app. The best way to run it is to download the Android app version onto your Chromebook so that it protects all traffic, rather than just the Chrome browser extension, which just covers the traffic happening on the browser itself. Overall, in my personal experience, Windscribe has rivaled the best in VPN services for features.
Cons: Slightly slower than the top VPN providers in my experience, but this is highly subjective.
Overall: Overall, I have had a positive experience and have considered buying the 2 year service option.

Joshua M.

Impressively good!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 22, 2019

Windscribe actually surprised me and was a lot better than I had expected it to be. I downloaded it and originally signed up for the free plan but after checking out its features and how it was overall running, I was really impressed. It has a selection of good features, good servers, and a great connection that has been very stable. The security level is great, and with the Pro Plan you get unlimited data which is perfect for heavy users. I would definitely recommend.

Hanzel

Happy with the service

Rated 5 out of 5
July 22, 2019

In a time where government spying and malicious hacking are commonplace, Windscribe is here to help. This vpn service is one of the only providers to offer a prolonged free service, offering everyone at least 10gb of encrypted traffic per month for only your email in exchange (which they don’t sell to advertisers). The subscriber version removes the limitations of the free service, granting you more access to different locations without a data cap. Even with the free edition, you receive the same fast internet speeds as a paid subscriber. There are no specifications on the amount of simultaneous connections you can have at once, meaning they’ll allow you to connect as many internet devices as you own. There are apps for just about any modern OS, fire tv included. I’ve always been happy with the speeds I’ve received from windscribe, and as long as you don’t mind them being located in Canada… they are very privacy conscious and seem to really care about not logging or disclosing your browsing habits to anyone. They’re also very active on Reddit, and the company has a *****++ sense of humor. Give them a shot with their free version and see how the service works for you!

Izzyb027027

-

Rated 5 out of 5
July 21, 2019

I like this app a lot. Sometimes it takes awhile to connect but that is not their fault as my router needs to be replaced. However it always connects. I like the ability to pick where I want it to connect. I sometimes connect in foreign countries on purpose. Most of the time I just let the app pick the best connection.

Allen Bowling

Pretty good one issue

Rated 5 out of 5
July 17, 2019

Glitches when phone goes to sleep. Works decently fast most of the time.
Specifically, will not reconnect to the VPN servers without the app being shut off after the screen turns off which happens frequently with a mobile device. Also, every time I switch to the app it asks for a review even after reviewing which is a minor annoyance until I have to switch to the app more frequently due to the first issue.
I’ve used Windscribe for a couple years and have been happy overall with only minor connection challenges prior to the latest update.

Nahtudej

Great selection of features

Rated 5 out of 5
July 15, 2019

Hi all! I’ve been using Windscribe for a while now and have found it to be a great VPN that features a great selection of features we all use or need to use on a daily basis. It’s been great to surf the net freely knowing Windscribe’s safety features are there to protect you, plus the connection speeds have been stable and I haven’t had any problems when connecting to different servers.

Tonio

app stability improved in this version

Rated 5 out of 5
July 15, 2019

With the trusted and untrusted sites, the app becomes useful again. Hope it maintains the stability going forward. Thank you!

Nghia135246

-

Rated 3 out of 5
July 15, 2019

Lacks features other VPN providers have. Mine automatically disconnects about 5 times a day. Server list doesn’t sort according to latency even though I enabled the setting. No widgets or notification tray button. Also no quick connect to best server. Speeds and latency is good enough though.

Wihan Uys

-

Rated 5 out of 5
July 14, 2019

Always worked for me, without issues. Really appreciate the active developments on the app, as well as the Android TV app (a plus!) I did encounter a little hiccup when trying to connect a few days back but solved by going into settings and playing around with the ports (STEALTH worked for me) kudos to the developers, and for those who just are terrible at tech, dont flame them, you dont know what youre doing and blaming everyone but yourself

Tang TV

I was challenged...

Rated 1 out of 5
July 11, 2019

I was curious why this service had so many negative reviews, so i decided to try it and see what happens. I prepaid 3 months, at the first 3 days i had it connected at 6 different devices and i added more just to check so the 6 devices became 11. Then i understand all the negative comments/reviews… after 2 days got banned for sharing it(not even close) all the devices were on the same network. The conclusion is that the unlimited devices and about data is a big lie! I asked for a refund for at least the 2 next months, i didn’t had the time to use it… and instead of a refund i got a rude reply at my request saying “the refund is off the table and no negotiable”.

Markus

-

Rated 1 out of 5
July 3, 2019

Even paid version often slows down connection speed significantly. Often doesn’t connect when internet connects initially. If there’s a drop it may not re-establish when the internet comes back either. So unsafe on untrustworthy wifi – its main purpose! Now having periods where it refuses to connect at all over a variety of devices & networks at the same time. Reinstallation on Android 7 phones keep failing w/in days. Once good VPN’s become practically useless. I don’t recommend it at all.

Cory Web

-

Rated 1 out of 5
July 3, 2019

Do NOT pay them and upgrade! I did and when using, my internet speeds were LESS than 50 MBPS. Not using…100 MBPS. It slows you to less than half speed. I contacted support and requested a refund within my first 3 days. They say if you do, they will give it. It’s been a month and I have NOT seen my refund! Do not pay these people ANYTHING!

John Marcenek

-

Rated 4 out of 5
July 3, 2019

i love the app and the added security it provieds althoigh sometimes for wxample when i try to acces my bank statements or app it, the bank wont kwt me becsisw of the vpn little things but in the end its fine and a very good product

Alejandro Hernandez

Great for using on the go

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2019

Windscribe has been a greats support for me while travelling. I’ve been able to easily connect to geo restricted sites and US Netflix without a problem. I’ve had no problems with lag and the speeds have been very reliable compared to other VPN’s that often start off OK and gradually the connection ends up slowly lagging until it’s unusable. Windscribe, on the other hand has reliable connections and the overall security system is exactly what I’ve been looking for.

Zabi

Good for everyday use

Rated 4 out of 5
June 30, 2019

Very good speed, stable connection. Robert is useful on mobile where it could block ads on chrome. Trustworthy privacy policy. I have been using the free version for a few years before getting premium and upgraded to lifetime premium on stacksocial last year, truly one of the best vpn services I have used, would definitely recommend. However, it does log timestamp and the connection may drop once in a while, but for the price it could compete with much more expensive options.

Jason Chan

-

Rated 3 out of 5
June 30, 2019

apps seems to work good but I am concerned over their unprofessional email correspondences. nothing wrong with a bit of humour as introduced by google but they go too far making it sound its being run by teenagers which doesnt give me confidence using the VPN when doing online banking and so have another VPN

JOhn Ford

Totally exposed

Rated 1 out of 5
June 29, 2019

While i had this VPN service i used the extension because the app is bad and useless while what you add at the app then the extension forced to connect at the same server… so I noticed some sites with any browser i tried sometimes i got exposed. I had applied all the necessary actions/mods and tips and tricks for no DNS and webrtc leak but most of the sites locked my accounts even if i had paid for them. Also it had an annoying pop up username and password request box every time you open your browser and later someone skilled at VPNs told me that if I had pressed most of the time cancel etc. then I didn’t have encryption. I cannot understand the existence of this VPN company that exposing you and it is not cheaper if you compare it with others better. Ranked 22? oh come on… do a new review again incognito and see for yourselves how useless it is.

Larry M.

-

Rated 2 out of 5
June 27, 2019

Windscribe had been my favorite VPN for long time, I subscribed to pro plan, then non of my devices was able to connect to VPN network anymore. I tried this app on several devices on different internet plans, nothing works. I tried different servers, protocols, ports but nothing work for me anymore. The only way to make it work is by delete windscribe app storage and cache, then re-sign in and connect. this will make it work untill i got disconnected from internet and trying to reconnect again.

Asem Kakhi

-

Rated 4 out of 5
June 26, 2019

I’ve never had a problem with this service. Does exactly what it says on the tin plus much more. Also the features you get combined with this price make purchasing their VPN a no brainer. Also they have one of the best kill switches in the industry. i have a lifetime subscription. the only let down can be some of the speeds.

Will Chumley

-

Rated 1 out of 5
June 25, 2019

I got this to prevent wifi monitoring by a neighbour who has been selling my personal information online but if it doesnt connect its not doing its job. The first problem I had was that it did not automatically connect when I get home and my phone connected to wifi. They did fix this but now I find that it has randomly disconnected. At the moment I am finding it is getting more and more frequent that it has disconnected and its getting worse for not being able to connect at all when using wifi. I will be moving to a competitor once my subscription expires.

Alex Greetham

Been using Windscribe for about 2 years…

Rated 5 out of 5
June 24, 2019

Been using Windscribe for about 2 years now.
Easy to use, and a pleasure to have.I was sceptical in the beginning, when I heard others reviews, but, I fully agree with them now.
I utilize Windscribe in both Microsoft, and Linux OSs. It has become my app of choice. Reliable, fast and easy to use.

Gerally Bath

-

Rated 1 out of 5
June 24, 2019

I’m sorry I wasted my money. The desktop application is off more than it’s on, and is usually impossible to turn back on when it stops working. It spends most of its time “trying to connect.” In the meantime, I might as well not have the program for all the protection it gives me. Don’t get me wrong. It’s wonderful when it’s working. It’s just that it very seldom is.

Robert E. Waters

Windsribe is a safe fast VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
June 23, 2019

Windscribe is the best free VPN service I have ever used.
I won a “free” 60gig per month limited lifetime account on a software giveaway forum 3 years ago in a contest sponsored by Wndscribe.
My first choice is ExpressVPN which I use on my main desktop, but I installed WindscribeVPN on my wife’s computer since I won it.
She uses it to be safe from “bad actors” (hackers, phishers, data loggers) when doing banking or any financial transactions online.
It is safe, fast, and has computers in every country we need to do any business in (North America and Europe.)
*I recommend it to anyone who needs a safe (military grade encrypted) fast VPN for free even if the free standard version is only “10GB/month of data.”

Elijah Gale

Ok service but support quite bad

Rated 3 out of 5
June 19, 2019

2nd edit: support eventually got back to me and gave me a refund but still very slow
Edit: I wasn’t happy with the speeds as I think the Uk servers are a bit saturated and in some cases, pro servers can be slower than free ones. I contacted support for a refund of a months of a custom plan and they did reply saying ‘was there a partiuclar issue?’ and I said no and still wanted a refund, and I replied 3 times to ask again but still no reply to this day even though I was a small amount ($3) i still wanted it back but they probably think I don’t care about that much money but still.

Fraser Clough

Windscribe is a high-quality VPN…

Rated 5 out of 5
June 19, 2019

Windscribe is a high-quality VPN service that protects your computer and smartphone. The company offers a full-fledged VPN client that protects your computer and smartphone, as well as a firewall — your IP will not be visible even if the connection with Windscribe is lost. In addition, the package includes a browser application that blocks ads and trackers. In the application, you can create secure links from the browser and manage them. Windscribe offers a rich selection of security settings, such as ad blocking, removal of site tracking systems that you visit, user agent switching and more. The service is compatible with Windows, Mac and Linux, Android and iOS as well as Google Chrome, Opera and Firefox. A quality VPN service such as Windscribe allows you to bypass Internet censorship. You will feel safe even when connecting to public Wi-Fi access points. The service allows you to easily share files over encrypted tunnels. The company uses the AES-356 cipher with the SHA512 authenticator and a 4096-bit RSA key.

Alex Dee

Windscribe: Good VPN solution

Rated 4 out of 5
June 19, 2019

I used Windscribe for long time and the service is good with many servers around the world, good security and privacy, i can access many restricted sites. In addition, it supports torrenting and can bypass VPN block in some countries. Winscribe supports all of my devices and easy to use with browser extensions that make its use more easy and accessible. Windscribe offers you generous free plan to test all features and static IP address
Cons:
The speed of the servers need more improvement
The price needs to be reduced

Tarek M

Unreliable, won't work with

Rated 1 out of 5
June 17, 2019

Constantly disconnects and re-connects. Was told (rudely) by windscribe it can only be my software, firewall or antivirus. To run it I must remove all my software, firewalls and antivirus. I have a very standards windows 10 install, use windows 10 firewall and defender and run standard productivity software. No special or weird network affecting software. So I can either have Windsribe (which I’ve had nothing but bad experiences with) or windows + software and another more reliable VPN. Don’t use if you have software or use firewalls.

James

They offer... everything..... from nothing!

Rated 1 out of 5
June 15, 2019

It is ridiculous, i had 12 active connections, i am not so VPN expert but at least some of the basics i know them, like reading the ToS. We have two phone lines at home, one for our personal needs of communication and on from my husband who is a doctor and has office in a section at the house and different internet provider. We used 5 to be connected with our personal line, 1 my husband with his professional line. And the rest was mobiles from different companies too. So one nice evening i received “a very nice explanation” -you are banned for sharing connection-. I contacted them explaining how things are and i received after 27 hours (“awesome support”) the following rude message: “You will stay banned because what the ***** came so many connections from different providers, it is sharing and we don’t allow, you will remain banned deal with it.” I asked refund 4 days ago and guess… no response. Also i saw the support at reddit and went there and what i saw you cannot call it support, they where mocking other VPN companies live NordVPN, IP Vanish etc. with memes. Don’t do the same mistake as i did…. they are not trustworthy, they are rude.

Margie Martinez

Best VPN avalable

Rated 5 out of 5
June 15, 2019

Windscribe is hands down one of the best VPNs available it’s the cheapest and fastest VPN i know i personally only use windscribe to connect to the US and use Netflix so i used a build your own plan so i have access to their Netflix servers only for $2 a month and unlimited data you can’t find a deal like that anywhere else I’ve also never had any problems with speeds and this is coming from a person with bad internet

Esaad Muhammed Cetiner

No.. just NO!!!

Rated 1 out of 5
June 13, 2019

I got it only for the work where i actually can bypass their restrictions so i can listen music from my web browser and premium account spotify music i enjoy. So used their chrome addon. The first 15 days was OK… after 20 almost days spotify signing me out of my account and locking it, i received an email saying for unusual activity and had to change my password… i said OK it is a glitch. After 5 days logging in to spotify always from the same country that is and the current i live… it doesn’t allow me to log in again saying wrong password, i didn’t got email this time. I requested to change my password and sent me a link to do this and i did it and logged in successfully. After 10 days it happens the same and i finally contact the spotify support at Spotify Cares and told them what is going on, they replied me that they will reset my account and do a check and then i will have to retrieve my playlists back from my account. They did it i got the control back and retrieved my playlists. They asked me if i use VPN and i said yes at my work. They told me that they don’t suggest the usage of VPN but it is not out of the terms so i can use it. Asked me witch on i use and i said Windscribe, in less than 40′ i got response telling me that thousands of people using this service to login and all have the same IP addresses and they blacklisted them and encourage me to not use it. I bought from another company a VPN, i am not sure if i can say who they are but they offer the same and is at top 5 here vpnmentor. And for 4 months now the issues are gone… it tested and validated with service telling me my IP,it was renewed automatically without interrupts and compromising me almost every 30′. So i cancelled my windscribe that was one of the worst services i ever used, even from the free ones.

Declan Yatez

-

Rated 5 out of 5
June 12, 2019

These people are instant responders, personal repliers, educators, problem solvers, time takers and constantly improve their fantastic product. I’m a very real person that is absolutely not connected in any way but as a very happy customer with lots of experience in computers, more than 30 of my 37 years alive hands on and wise enough to know that every 5 minutes I once again know nothing about the technology of the day and have to constantly adapt and help others help myself to keep up. Point being I just popped on to look for the 100th time how to get my AV receiver or TV or etc. to use the proxy port from the desktop app as I have never been successful with (I’m explaining the for instance here for contrast when I say:) and was disgusted with the reviews I see here currently on top because I know for a fact that every update that may or may not temporarily break everything for us is due to ever-improving product evolution to do the job they exist to do for us and that it doesnt take more than a single day overall to contact them and speak with a human to be helped and educated and fix my issue and move on! So the people that vaguely complain and accuse of fraud etc. stop lying!

Tim Sperling

Good investment

Rated 5 out of 5
June 11, 2019

Windscribe has been great and I’m very pleased that I invested in it. I’ve used it for almost 4 months now and I know I wouldn’t be able to find anything better. I used multiple VPNs in the past and non of them have matched up to Windscribe. Would defiantly recommend trying it out.

Jerome

At 22 place? It is overrated.

Rated 1 out of 5
June 9, 2019

I used it for month with monthly subscription, all looked good. So 3 days before i get paid and buy a yearly subscription they emailing me that i am banned because of huge data traffic… Then whats the point to have them giving you the ability to download huge files or torrenting and banned for traffic? Thank god i heard people who suggest to first try a month and see because it is unreliable to what they offer. I suggest you stay away from them, is worst than free service.

Frank

Windscribe VPN is one of the most popular VPN providers

Rated 5 out of 5
June 9, 2019

Windscribe VPN is one of the most popular VPN providers that allows you to use the Internet anonymously.
Windscribe encrypts your browser activity, blocks ads and unlocks entertainment content.
With it, You can:
Stop regularly monitoring and controlling your online activities and enjoy confidentially, Unlock blocked content in your region. The system changes your IP address and allows you to simulate activity from different countries;
Along with the VPN-application, a special browser is provided.
VPN makes your Internet surfing completely anonymous. Windscribe VPN encrypts all work on the network, does not save logs.
Stop the leakage of personal data. Using public access points (public wi-fi), You will prevent the theft of confidential information by hackers. In addition, using the R. O. B. E. R. T. VPN module blocks malware and advertising on all your devices.
It is assumed also free use of VPN-service with reduced functionality in the number of countries and traffic.

kubik67

-

Rated 1 out of 5
June 8, 2019

This company is a total fraud. Please don’t subscribe to any of their plans. I signed up for the residential ip ($96). I discovered few days later the service was not as described. I opened a dispute with PayPal. Because I was using their VPN to access sites, Windscribe Stole my details and login my PayPal account and close the dispute. I contacted PayPal, PayPal says it appears on their end that I closed the dispute. When you use windscribe, they are tech company so they can steal your details

Mafo Idris

-

Rated 4 out of 5
June 7, 2019

perfect for my need. android OTA update late? jump to Germany, BAM! update. netflix wont work while abroad? BAM! windflix got you covered. government watching you? BAM! now in Hongkong! jokes aside, this works as intended. use VPN if carrier throttles streaming quality. with windscribe that limitation is lifted. perfect.

Hank Sharpe

The unlimited devices is a lie

Rated 2 out of 5
May 31, 2019

I used to had for 2 months yearly subscription and 5 devices connected from different IPS and a few days ago and they sent me an email that i am banned because of sharing my account. So when using my mobile i am connected and have different IPS than the ISP for my desktop this is “account sharing”… well played windscribe… I am adding you 2 stars because you made to sell a lie and you convinced me, you are “smart”

Dennis

Over hyped and high ranked for nothing

Rated 1 out of 5
May 30, 2019

Very bad choice, if you plan to do what they “promise” with the “unlimited” devices forget it… the people who run this company they are bad in communication, they can respond you to a question offensively and aggressively. If i was able to add 0 stars i will had do it. Fake features, slow servers, disconnects and all that at the price of a top quality VPN service for bad services. I want to forget my experience with them and move forward to a more REAL DEAL provider, not fake.

Alexander

We tested them and failed us

Rated 1 out of 5
May 29, 2019

We have Europe based company testing from VPN, Web Hosting and what ever online service you can request that needs paid membership. Many people most from Europe sent us mails that Windscribe doesn’t provide what they promise. So immediately used a Xeon based server running 25 virtual machines under one ISP and ran at the same time with 25 – 30 and changing them with others every 10 hours while the previews had been terminated, tested the claim they promise that “you can run as many multiple devices you want the same time”. So we added a limit to the data to don’t spend massive and huge amount because is against the policy… we followed that rule and respect with our software based for this purpose. We ran our systems and data servers 24/7. The conclusion is that we got banned for the following reason as the claimed: “You broke the rules Your account has been banned for breaking our Terms of Service. Specific Reason Sharing the account with hundreds of people” But actually was 30 parallel connections with their software to different devices under one unique IP. The company is from Canada under the “5 eyes” running and founded from Mr. Yegor Sak. This is our review for VPNMentor. Each European based from now on comparison site like this will receive a unique report about our tests. Also we are open to everything if asked, we covered everything with Cameras in the center, recording our screens and keeping logs with our software how frequently changed the VMs, we can provide to everyone that want them because it was an open operation during the claims of unsatisfied clients. Thank you.

Anonymous

-

Rated 1 out of 5
May 29, 2019

Desktop version cuts my speed in half, Android version won’t connect at all. Been like this for a couple of months now. Tech support have no idea what’s going on; just keep asking the same questions over and over, trying to say it’s my hardware even though it’s the same on multiple computers. And none of that would explain why the Android version won’t connect anyway. Sorry to say this should be avoided – go elsewhere for your VPN.

Spaanner Spenccer

Even worse..

Rated 1 out of 5
May 27, 2019

My experience was even worse… While using [their paid version of] Windscribe PRO it crapped on me. “Session expired”!!!! was what their useless PC app said… while my applications were all happily connected over the internet, without any protection.. Torrent client included!!!!!! And I had [their obviously useless] “Kill switch” turned on!!! So beware! [Session expired!!!??? Seriously??? What “session”???] This alone is a great reason not to even think of using their service!!!
Also, if you need Port Forwarding [for Torrenting or running your own servers] you will be either paying some extra dollars a month or having to reset “free” PF after every 24 hours!!! If “Gary” ever tells you how to make it even work at all..
Oh, and didn’t someone say it already: “They are soooo slow”???
So just stay away. They are charging you a lot of monies for a poor quality. You have been warned…
NOTE: I don’t know were all of this “great” reviews coming from, but be advised that they have a large fan following on Reddit and elsewhere, so I guess if these reviews are not fake, it is some orchestrated group effort…

Maxim011

-

Rated 5 out of 5
May 25, 2019

Windscribe has always been one of the first 5 apps I install when I get a new device, now it is the first… Protecting me while connected goes without saying, but it does a great job! Windscribe is now the first, because it does something that all my other LifeTime VPN Subs don’t, it stops those pesky ads that are plastered throughout the web pages when Im tryin’ to get my News Junkie fix on…Yes, Windscribe blocks those place holders for the ads even, just pure News, that alone is worth 5 🌟.

Andrew T.

-

Rated 5 out of 5
May 24, 2019

A quick response from Windscribe, and a simple settings change. The app is working again. thank you! updated rating to 4 stars. 1 star for now. Using the paid Pro version. A recent update rendered the app useless. The app was working very well on both Android and Windows. Since the update, Android will not connect. just an endlessly rotating icon…. when you fix it, and it works well again, i will change the rating. take a look at your recent reviews. something is wrong!

Seth Whited

Submit Your Review For Windscribe VPN