HideMyAss Review

2.9
Rated 2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5 stars (based on 99 reviews)

We initially found HideMyAss to be a serviceable VPN provider. The app is easy to set up and use, letting you connect quickly.

HideMyAss Review Summary

HideMyAss is a VPN provider based in the United Kingdom. The company started in 2005 and now operates 880 servers in 190 countries. It claims to offer strong security and privacy at affordable prices.

We tested HideMyAss’ service and found the connection speeds decent. We also like the app’s user-friendliness. On the other hand, we found the provider’s security policies contentious, especially in the use of log files and storage of user information.

Customer support also turned out unreliable, with them not responding to our questions in a thorough manner. Because of these issues, we would suggest you either use HideMyAss at your own risk, or find a better alternative by click the button below.

HideMyAss VPN Features

One of HideMyAss’ main draws is its easy-to-use client app. The app has the Instant Connection button displayed prominently on the home screen. There is also a Location Mode tab where you can select the country and server to connect to. This tab also displays the servers available for streaming and torrenting.
Another notable feature of the app is the Freedom Mode, which HideMyAss claims will help people go around a country’s censorship. The provider explains that when you use this mode your traffic is directed to the closest country that doesn’t have strict censorship.
The app also has a simplified Preferences section, where you can make adjustments like:
Start the VPN client when your computer starts
Show your recent connections
Shuffle your IP addresses
Toggle the kill switch on and off
The section’s layout makes it intuitive to use, but it noticeably lacks some of the finer control options, like Load Balancing and Secure IP Bind, that were previously present.

User experience
With such a complex network, you’d expect Hide My Ass to have VPN software that’s just as complex to use. This isn’t the case. They’ve taken the essentials that the average user needs and placed them right in the easiest place to find them – the ‘Dashboard’ tab.
From the Dashboard you can quickly change which country your server is in from the ‘Quick VPN Country Change” menu:

hide my ass software feature

This really plays to Hide My Ass’ strength as a tool for defeating geoblocking. You can enjoy their software entirely from the Dashboard tab and never have to stray. This is what the average user will do.
For users with more advanced needs, you’ll find it’s simple to customize your experience. The country selection tab easily lets you navigate their worldwide network via a text based listing of all their servers grouped by country, or the world map we prefer:

hide my ass server map
Advanced users can simply keep on looking down through the tabs to find their:

  • Simple IP address settings tool.
  • Secure IP Bind, more often known as a VPN kill switch.
  • Speed Guide for the fastest servers near you (Ping tested)
  • Choosing between a direct connection, HTTPS proxy, or SOCKS proxy.

Each tab down from the top has a more complicated feature. This is great for user experience as the most useful features for the largest number of users is closest to the top. There’s no digging into the more complicated stuff if you don’t want to.

Streaming and P2P
HideMyAss offers Netflix unblocking services, which can be accessed in the Location tab. The company gives you access to both the US and UK servers, as well as the BBC iPlayer. It also offers unblocking services for Amazon Prime Video, but this is not as reliable as the Netflix services.

The available peer-to-peer servers are also displayed in the Location tab. Some users have noted that they have difficulty transferring files through the servers or that these are inaccessible. HideMyAss recommends you make some adjustments to your Preferences, like only using TCP, to resolve the issues.

User interface
It seems like more VPN providers are moving towards a layout much like Hide My Ass’ layout. In the early days of VPNs, the interface left much to the imagination. Today, Hide My Ass are leading the way with an interface that is always looking better, working better, and helping users secure their connection faster.

null
The software has a very simple and clean look. It’s a little bit blander than the yellow and black software of theirs from years ago, but the VPN world is maturing so it’s only right:

Features
Perhaps the greatest strength of Hide My Ass over the years has been the cutting edge features they’ve built right into their software. To start with the most basic stuff, you can use their software to:

  • Launch when the system starts.
  • Auto Path for OpenVPN problems where it automatically tries to solve issues.
  • Use load balancing that switches you to a less busy server within the same city. You can choose how ‘crowded’ the server is by percentage.

These three are all designed to help you get connected quickly, and to maintain a fast connection with no effort on your part. You can find them on your Dashboard tab under ‘Settings’:

hide my ass software feature
Their next best feature is their IP address switching tool. You can choose to simply change your IP at the touch of a button, labelled ‘Change IP’, for complete control when you need it. You can use it when you’re about to visit a different website and want a different IP address displayed to it.
Or you can schedule an IP address change for a certain time. It will be done for you automatically. Both IP address changing tools make it very difficult for someone to track you.

hide my ass ip address changing
If you’re ever in doubt about where you IP address is, and how websites see it, you can click on their ‘Verify IP address’ button on the bottom. It will take you to this website where you’ll be shown what other websites are seeing:

Hide my ass ip address check
Next, you can change your Secure IP bind, or VPN kill switch, settings. This will disconnect the connection of certain apps you choose. For example, if your connection to a VPN server drops, and you’re doing a secure file transfer with your legal team, the software will stop the connection for that transfer so your information remains safe. Being able to select only certain apps is a feature completely unique to HMA Pro.
The Speed Guide feature is incredibly useful with their huge network of servers. They automatically display the 10 closest VPN servers. You can then check more servers to test Ping rates, and other server tests.

hide my ass security checks
The last feature, Proxy Settings, is really only for advanced users.

Reliability
You need not worry about your software crashing with Hide My Ass. After months of testing, lots of playing around, and an attempt at getting it to crash, it stood up to our abuse. This is a good thing as a complex network with a bad piece of software can be a frustrating experience. No such problems here.
Fair warning: If you choose to check the Ping rates of a lot of servers, and they have a lot of servers to check, you can have a longer wait time. The point of their Speed Guide is to lower the wait time for users who want to get server information. If you abuse it you will have a slower experience.

Platforms and Compatibility
Hide My Ass have VPN software for the following platforms:

  • Windows
  • Mac
  • iOS
  • Android

Along with instructions to set it up on a router, or manually. This is a shorter list of platforms compared to others, such as IPVanish, but it does cover the vast majority of users.

CPU load
Hide My Ass’ software is slightly larger than some we’ve tested in terms of file size, but it will not take up very much space on your hard drive at all:
Given the size of their network, you’ll be surprised to find that it only uses around 48.8MB of active memory. For a modern laptop or desktop computer, you’ll be able to run your torrent client, browse around the Internet, listen to music, and play around in a graphics editing program while Hide My Ass is open with no problem. We know this because we tested it!

Overall, Hide My Ass has one of top VPN software tools we’ve used. The interface is clean and easy to understand. You can use their more advanced features with limited knowledge. Navigating their large and complex network is made simple through how they designed they designed this excellent piece of software.

HideMyAss SERVERS & COUNTRIES

HideMyAss operates 880 servers spread across 190 countries and territories, including:

  • Denmark
  • France
  • Puerto Rico
  • Brazil
  • Hong Kong
  • Australia

While HideMyAss has a large number of servers, there are other providers (like IPVanish) that have bigger networks. The servers are also distributed unevenly, with most locations having only two servers available.

Reliability & Speed Tests

Speed wise, Hide My Ass was found to feel the same when you’re using it as any other top 5 VPNs tested. Streaming video speed is normal, and everything else loads as quickly as you’d expect. Here is how the connection was performing on the day of testing without a VPN connected: Our Speeds Without HideMyAss  When using HMA, you find that they have virtual servers for clients who want a connection in the USA, but who are far outside of the USA. When tested, the closest virtual USA server was in France:  Our Speeds On a HideMyAss Server Located In France: hide my ass speed test france To compare, here are the results with a server in Manhattan, NYC: hide my ass speed test You get a quicker ping rate with the physically closer virtual server, and roughly the same download speed with either one. When using the connection to surf around the web, the virtual server feels quicker. A UK connection had similar results, showing that all connections would operate at nearly exactly the same speed: Our Speeds On a HideMyAss Server Located In the United Kingdom hide my ass speed test uk After three entire days of testing, HMA did not once drop a connection. Every connection felt exactly the same as the next, regardless of whether the VPN server was 100 miles away, or 10,000 miles away. Of particular note is HMA’s dedication to monitoring their servers. Out of the 900+ servers that were online when we tested, only 5 were found to be offline, and those servers were in remote locations. Best of all, HMA has been found to work perfectly fine with all geo-blocked content providers – including Hulu. Some IP addresses are blocked by Hulu, simply switching to another US based or virtual server can unlock it for you.

Pricing and Payments

HideMyAss offers three different plans for its VPN service:

  • One-month plan: $11.99
  • 12-month plan: $6.99
  • 24-month plan: $4.99

All these plans let you access the entire HideMyAss network, and there are no restrictions on the number of downloads. You can pay either through PayPal or credit cards The sizes of the plans will not be to everyone’s liking, as there are no intermediate monthly packages. This makes them more suitable for long-term users rather than casual ones. All the plans are covered by a 30-day money-back guarantee. To receive the refund, you need to send HideMyAss’ support staff a cancelation request.

Support

HideMyAss provides several means of getting customer support, namely:

  • Live Chat: The agents are claimed to be available 24/7 on chat, but you won’t get detailed answers to questions since they only direct you to other pages.
  • Help form: The help form is basic and doesn’t let you direct your support requests to specific departments. This might result in longer resolution times.
  • Email support: You can send any email inquiries to info@hidemyass.com, but the site is again slow to respond.
  • Social media: The site has both a Facebook page and a Twitter account where you can send questions.

The large variety of channels available lets you make contact anytime for inquiries or troubleshooting.

However, the quality of provided support is less than stellar. While agents respond within minutes on live chat, most of their answers just direct us to links on their site. This is the same case with the social media pages. There felt like there was no personal touch.

Users also noted that HideMyAss’ support is less responsive on non-real time channels like email and support tickets. This will be problematic to some users since they will be limited to use only these channels for sending refund requests or inquiries. We, unfortunately, personally received very poor support from HideMyAss. It is one of the major reasons why we gave HideMyAss a lower ranking.

POLICIES & LOGGING

While HideMyAss states that it does not monitor or store the details of the sites you visit, it still collects a variety of log information during your session, including:

  • Your username
  • Your session timestamp
  • The IP address used to connect to the VPN
  • The IP address of the server you are using
  • The amount of data you transmit

The provider can still use these log files to trace your online activities, even without viewing your actual traffic.

The company also states that it may actively monitor your sessions for technical purposes or when detecting fraud and abusive use of the network. This will be worrisome for users since HideMyAss is based in the UK, which is known for its aggressive monitoring of citizens. In fact, HideMyAss has allowed authorities access to user information in previous cases.

Expert Recommendation

We initially found HideMyAss to be a serviceable VPN provider. The app is easy to set up and use, letting you connect quickly. The speeds are also fairly consistent and are sufficient for most online users. We did find the company’s more specialized services (like streaming and P2P) less reliable than that of other providers.

However, upon closer inspection of HideMyAss’ policies, we found some concerning issues. The most notable of them is that HideMyAss does collect a significant amount of user information. We are also concerned by the company’s track record of giving authorities access to this information too easily, wondering who else may be able to get hold of it (like the bad guys).

Customer support is another point of contention. While HideMyAss provides plenty of contact channels, the response rate is not that impressive. Because of these issues, we suggest that you be cautious about using HideMyAss. You can also check out better alternatives in our top VPN list.

HideMyAss User Reviews

2.9
Rated 2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5 stars (based on 99 reviews)
Excellent40%
Very good5%
Average4%
Poor3%
Terrible48%

HideMyAss -

Rated 1 out of 5
November 25, 2019

I tried to sign up for a trial and wasn’t able to create an account due to a bug in their system. I tried again without success. However, I received two emails from them saying that I had signed up for two subscriptions. I emailed them about it and received no response. I then contacted via Live Chat and spoke to some incompetent guy named Jorah who started to lecture me on how I should not sign up for several trials. He refused to listen to me and just kept lecturing me. I won’t be using this company again and will leave as many negative reviews as I can.

Ruben

HideMyAss -

Rated 5 out of 5
October 3, 2019

The new app is simply great. It works at great speed and you get the biggest number of places on earth than any other VPN provider offers. Form it’s number one for few years already.

Arno Mediano

HideMyAss -

Rated 5 out of 5
January 8, 2019

I got hidemyass after a friend who had been using at the same station i was going to at that time recommended it.I was aware a lot of content i was accessing back home was not available due to geoblocking. Hidemyass works for me and am now able to watch and access everything just like i did at home.

Martha

HideMyAss -

Rated 5 out of 5
January 7, 2019

The first thing that caught my attention is the fact that Hidemyass is very simple to use despite being capable of doing complex stuff. I am now able to watch content that is blocked from viewing in the country am deployed.

Beatrice

HideMyAss -

Rated 5 out of 5
December 28, 2018

I work for an international NGO and often have had to travel in Africa and Asia. Every country i have been to i have been able to get a server when using hidemyass. The speeds are very good as well.

Stephen

HideMyAss -

Rated 5 out of 5
December 27, 2018

The customer support at hidemyass are great. They were helpful and answered my questions since i was a first time user. I recently moved to south Sudan on a 6 month assignment and needed a service that would allow me to watch my favourite show on netflix.

Grace

HideMyAss -

Rated 5 out of 5
December 20, 2018

Hidemyass has done the job for me perfectly over the last 12 months. I mainly use it for streaming purposes as most netflix is inaccessible at my current location. It has good speeds as well.

Levi

HideMyAss -

Rated 5 out of 5
December 19, 2018

I got a new job overseas and a colleague who was previously stationed there recommended hidemyass after he heard me complain about missing out on my favourite shows on netflix. I use this service primarily to watch shows i would have missed for the duration am away from home.

Sally

HideMyAss -

Rated 5 out of 5
December 17, 2018

I use hide my ass at my university where they have blocked lot of cool websites.The simple user interface it has is one of the reasons i settled for it. I am not a very technical person and only needed a VPN service that would allow me access sites i would otherwise not access.

Patrick

HideMyAss -

Rated 1 out of 5
April 7, 2016

I’m based in Poland and tried to use Hide My Ass to access US and UK content and I found the speeds beyond slow, it’s really not fit for purpose. Really disappointing.

James

HideMyAss -

Rated 1 out of 5
March 10, 2016

Refused me a refund even though I had only purchased a few days before. Apparently I had used it too much. Form your own conclusions. I will never touch HMA ever again They had better hide their own asses.

David

HideMyAss -

Rated 1 out of 5
December 7, 2015

if you had a account whit them in the past years
if your looking to go back whit them
remember this
THE 30 DAY SATISFACTION DOS NOT EXIST FOR YOU
just payed 2year of subscription for nothing
(dos not work for netflix, hulu, … when you go outside of USA)

Carl

HideMyAss - 0

Rated 5 out of 5
November 9, 2015

Solid VPN. Tons of features and pretty fast. We had some issues connecting at times, but it works well. I haven’t contacted support so I can’t say anything about them.

Joshua

HideMyAss - Worst service ever

Rated 1 out of 5
October 21, 2015

Low connection speed and service interruption every 20 minutes define my experience with HMA.
I wrote them and ask for cancelation and refund, and I was ignored.
They 30 day money back guarantee is a lie.
HMA, never again.

Fernando

HideMyAss - 0

Rated 4 out of 5
October 20, 2015

Not a bad VPN but could improve. 4/5 stars

Danny K.

HideMyAss - Dont use HideMyAss

Rated 1 out of 5
October 7, 2015

First off the service does work, however they keep all your information unlike better providers like IpnVanish. Also I canceled my service but they hit me for a yearly renewal because of a hidden check box I did not uncheck! As soon as my credit card was charged for 79.00 I responded to them as I do not want service. Their Customer service was unresponsive so I would stay far away from Hide my ass especially as they keep your info on their servers!

Ron M

HideMyAss -

Rated 5 out of 5
September 29, 2015

HMA is LOADED with features and is really easy to use. You don’t even notice it’s there and when you do, it’s because its saving your ass from getting caught. 😉

Anon

HideMyAss - Misleading HMA 30 day money back guarantee

Rated 1 out of 5
September 11, 2015

I subscribed the one year plan on Sept 4 with automatically renewal option and we decided to cancel within 24 hour period. The current subscription is considered the first order and the automatic renewal should be an option. The money is not refunded as of yet and pending dispute. Here is the response below from them.
“After checking your account, on this occasion I am not in the position to process your refund, as this order is a renewal order.
As per our Refund policy we issue refunds for the first order within 30 days of purchase, so on this occasion we are unable to authorize a refund as explained here:
– https://www.hidemyass.com/legal/refunds
The automatic billing is now turned off and no further renewals will take place.”
Everyone should think it over twice before subscribing because they don’t seem to honor their money back guarantee that quickly.
I am sorry that I cannot accommodate you in this matter and I appreciate your understanding.

Louis C

HideMyAss -

Rated 1 out of 5
September 4, 2015

Apple users if they are not hiring this service, you can send email with your servers, and do not want to acknowledge this error.

Gaston

HideMyAss - Stay Away, The will never refund you

Rated 1 out of 5
August 27, 2015

This company’s billing department is a nightmare and they sign you up for services that you didn’t ask (for example auto-renewal) and when you ask for refund they won’t give it to you. They take your credit card information and charge you whatever they want and you can never get a refund.

RJ Raouf

HideMyAss - Too slow

Rated 1 out of 5
August 16, 2015

This VPN is very slow and when you ask for a refund (“30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE” as specified in their website) they will refuse the refund based on a policy that you don’t see when signing to the service. It is just a theft.

Greg

HideMyAss - Poor connections

Rated 1 out of 5
August 11, 2015

Signed up a week ago, and since the first moment I connected, I lose my connection after 5 minutes, even after following their troubleshoot suggestions, the problem still persists.
I have sent two emails to support within the past 4 days, and have yet to hear back from them. Really really disappointed because I joined them based on the reviews on this site.

Michael

HideMyAss - WARNING: never sign up for pre-payed with HIDEMYASS:COM !!!

Rated 1 out of 5
July 21, 2015

WARNING: criminal activity! never sign up for a contract with that company!!!
After signing up for the 12 month summer special for $58.88 i found out that this service offering is not worth spending a single cent! Instable connections, server connections lost within short connection times… INCREDIBLE POOR compared to competitors.
I asked for a refund…. BUT…. it seems to be their business model to lock users into their pre-paid contracts. They have good reasons for not giving users a chance to test their services for free, as everything is poor and unstable. Since today their OSX application is crashing frequently as well.
My request for refund got answered pointing to their REAL refund policy. There is NO first month money back guarantee as their marketing is attracting people to sign up for their pre-paid contracts!!!
Its bound to GB transfererred – this one I was compliant to – to get eligible fo the refund… BUT…
they state it is bound to 100 connections at maximum, which i over consumed…. not because I was willing to connect so often —- BUT because their unstable service required me to re-connect so often.
Be warned, for me its another life experience: Never spend money on things or services you never tested yourself. Don´t trust test reports of magazines, they are payed from marketing of the vendors. Never pre-pay before having a chance to test.
I will engage my lawyer to fight against such companies like HIDEMYASS.COM is one of the robbing and cheating companies to make money with users trust in something which is not there.
SAVE MONEY AND GO LOOKING SOMEWHERE ELSE… this one is just robbing your money!

Taunus-Oli

HideMyAss - hidemya**

Rated 3 out of 5
July 8, 2015

I agree with Julia, from mmay 2015

steve

HideMyAss - Stay away

Rated 1 out of 5
June 28, 2015

Used to be the best… but a long time ago.
Yes, they have a lot of servers, but a lot of them are very slow or don’t work at all.
And worst of all, costumer service is terrible or just nonexistent. Some automated mails but nothing else. Seems like there are not humans there.
I’ve been told that problems started when the company was sold, but anyway today there are a lot of better alternatives. If you can go anywhere else.

Ulisses

HideMyAss - Stay away

Rated 1 out of 5
June 27, 2015

Used to be the best… Long time ago (before they were bought by a bigger company)
Yes, they have a lot of servers, but most of them don’t work or are really slow. Their customer service is terrible or nonexistent.
Today there are a lot of better alternatives.

Ulisses

HideMyAss - It's a scam!!!!!

Rated 1 out of 5
June 20, 2015

Use service 3 years ago with older Mac OS. It was
Great!! Now tried 3 years later and can stay connected for more then 2min. Then have to go back and reset all the DNS settings. There software does not work with Mavericks
And the Russian wifi. When I asked for refund they refused
Be caused I used there software 3 years ago so 30 day refund
Does not apply. Be careful they will rip you off!

Vern nobles

HideMyAss - Sad

Rated 1 out of 5
June 6, 2015

I’ve used free vpn services that run better.

Adam

HideMyAss - Do NOT give them your Credit Card details!!!

Rated 1 out of 5
June 5, 2015

This is such a scam. It hasn’t worked properly since the moment I signed up. I said I did NOT want to auto renew when I signed up and they just billed my credit card for another year!!! Please, do not give them your credit card details.

Unhappy in Singapore

HideMyAss - HMA NZ servers are slow,bloated software

Rated 2 out of 5
May 30, 2015

HMA or Hide my ass is a company that needs to sort out its software & also sort out its IP list .The VPN software is to big to load & sluggish at connecting,New Zealand servers are slow all the time,so slow i get disconnected.Its hard to find a decent VPN company that has good fast new Zealand servers.The UFB (ultra fast fibre) rollout across New Zealand means i am getting 109mbs up and down on a 100/100 speed plan.Why are servers in my country so slow is webslice hosting that many VPN companies are using,dump webslice hosting please & sort out your bloated VPN software that is slow to connect.I can get at least 60 mbs per second on Australian servers but ping times increase as i go further overseas.HMA like many other VPN companies must change with the increasing of domestic high speed connections.

Neil

HideMyAss - Don't believe the hype

Rated 1 out of 5
May 19, 2015

Don’t believe their 30-day “guarantee” or the claim of anonymity.
They keep logs and contact you if you could possibly be downloading questionable content…anonymity?? Not really.
They claim it works well on multiple devices: worked great on my MacBook at home with no great speed drag noticed but iphone was another animal. Didn’t keep connection and seemed very slow.
Next the money back guarantee: don’t count on it. If you read their fine print (which I didn’t read closely enough…) there is a volume limit imposed to remain eligible for refund. I prepaid for a year and they refused even to grant a pro-rated refund. I asked specifically. Was told that their policy is clear and I’m out a full year subscription price for less than a month of service. I’ve found a cheaper service (half the price!) that meets my needs.
I can say the service was easy to install and their documentation was good. They did respond quickly to my request for a refund, but since it was to tell me I was out of luck, I wasn’t that impressed. Why not respond quickly to tell me they planned to keep my money even though I don’t want the service.

Grumpy!

HideMyAss - update your ip address list

Rated 3 out of 5
May 11, 2015

Hello , i have been using HMA for over 3 years now , i have enjoyed the services but now i don’t any more . reason being there are not updating their ip address list . If i am correct out of almost 500 ip’s for USA only about 10 of them are 2015 and ip’s and i don’t like that . hide my ass needs to understand that this are the same ip’s they sell to every body so every body uses it and as a result of that it gets weaker and weaker every day . So what i am asking is for them to try and update their ip addresses frequently because the ip’s are now weak so please update and you will get more customers.

julia

HideMyAss - Best VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
April 27, 2015

I have tried a few different VPN’s HMA is by far the most reliable and has the most locations.
Customer support is great A***

John Smith

HideMyAss - Don't Waste Your Money

Rated 1 out of 5
April 24, 2015

I bought this service on a one month trial and was charged for a year. Tried to use it on Craigslist and was blocked by Craigslist. Unable to reach customer service to get a refund so ended up doing a chargeback through my bank.

Laura Hix

HideMyAss - Hide My Ass is SLOWWWWW

Rated 1 out of 5
April 18, 2015

Very slow here in OZ.
Won’t be renewing.
Nuff said

Bill Wallace

HideMyAss - Alternative

Rated 3 out of 5
April 15, 2015

Thanks for the article! 🙂 Why using a VPN when you can use a DNS service like UnoTelly? The DNS option is much faster and easier to use.

adele sam

HideMyAss -

Rated 1 out of 5
April 14, 2015

Two days ago I subscribed for one month and in 2 Hours I decide that that service wasn’t for me. Slow connection and impossible to connect with most of the server in Usa.
I open a ticket requesting a refund and still waiting a reply.

vajra

HideMyAss - Awful service!!!

Rated 1 out of 5
April 11, 2015

I confirm that is awful service with low speed and slowpoky support. They have blocked my account without any proof and don’t answering my email. I want my money back!

Daniel

HideMyAss - Obviously biased

Rated 1 out of 5
March 26, 2015

They do not comply with european right management and instead hammer the fact that DMCA is the right you agree to when you accept the term of the contract.
Even though I was informed (well, I did not read the EULA because who does) they don’t want to question this abusive malpractice of international law enforcement.
I would not recommand for european users.

Mick

HideMyAss - lousy service

Rated 1 out of 5
March 18, 2015

Bad service, their cancellation policy refers to a button on your profile page that DOESN’T exist. I just sent them an email asking them to cancel my subscription (this ‘option’ is hidden somewhere in their privacy policy).
Waited for more then 20 minutes to have an online chat with a representative. Nobody ever showed up.
Last I checked, their VPN doesn’t seem to work with ipv6 (this is why Netflix doesn’t work outside of the USA, you’ll have to disable ipv6 in your device – yes, really), but maybe they fixed that since I checked, miracles do happen, after all.

Micdin

HideMyAss - No contact byt HMA team

Rated 1 out of 5
March 17, 2015

The streaming has been very slow and the quality of support is also very bad. Within a few hours of subscribing I contacted support executive to cancel the subscription. I was asked to submit the reason as an email to info@hidemyass.com. All I have received is an auto generated email response. Really do not know whether that 30 day money back works. Feel that I have been handed a bad deal and HMA is not interested in contacting in knowing my concerns

Mayank

HideMyAss - Bad/unethical customer service, DO NOT mark auto-renew

Rated 1 out of 5
March 16, 2015

I was sure I cancelled the account until I saw another Paypel invoice for an annual service (automatic renewal) for ~$80. Less than 24hrs after the payment was send, they refuse to refund me. They did offer a partial refund for $40, but I’d say that they are unethical with their renewal policy.

Alon

-

Rated 2 out of 5
February 11, 2015

Cancelled my account and denied my refund because I used their VPN to download a torrent!! WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!

Ross

HideMyAss - Great VPN!

Rated 5 out of 5
February 1, 2015

I’ve been using HMA while traveling Europe for the past few months and it’s been a pretty good experience. Speeds are fast and no issues streaming Netflex and getting to US websites. The software is nice as it automatically selects the fastest server.

Rocket Ed

HideMyAss - Configaration & server list problem

Rated 5 out of 5
January 28, 2015

Configaration & server list don’t load from Bangladesh.It don’t work from 18-1-15 to this moment… If any problem just let me know..plz ..I can’t work & this is my only one earning source… hey someone plz help me…

Fahim

HideMyAss - Horrible service

Rated 1 out of 5
January 16, 2015

Slow speed, nasty customer service, forget about the 30 days refund promise, you will never get it!!

George Bullan

HideMyAss - If you like your ass kicked, subscribe to HMA

Rated 1 out of 5
January 15, 2015

Subscribed for one year and WITHIN A DAY I experienced slow connection speed, poor customer service and a threatening letter about file sharing when complaining bout this and asking for a refund. They never honored their 30 days refund guarantee too.

George Bullan

Response from BestVPNProvider

Hey George, We are sorry to hear you had issues with HMA. We’ll get in touch with them shortly to see what the issue was. If you’re still in the market for a VPN, you should checkout our Top 10 list. IPVanish is our #1 pick (especially for file sharing). Check out our review of them here: https://bestvpnprovider.co/ipvanish-review/

HideMyAss - Worst VPN service ever

Rated 1 out of 5
January 15, 2015

I had auto renew enabled and I forgot to cancel it, so PayPal automatically paid for one year. I already had paid new VPN, but they refused to refund, because they have this policy. Yeah sure it reads in their policy that they don’t refund, but so what? It was my mistake, but it would be good customer service to refund in cases like this. I’m sure that most of other providers would refund in cases like this.
Anyway I cancelled service because connection was bad, yo u had to try to connect like 100 times before you could get connection. Some times it killed internet connection and I had to reinstall LAN drivers.
Customer service is slow, it takes more than 1 week to get useless answers.

VPN customer

HideMyAss - Cannot log into internet after starting VPN

Rated 1 out of 5
January 8, 2015

I recently signed up for new service with HMA and set up a private VPN in Phoenix, same city I live in. Then I tried to actually use my computer in with this VPN and I cannot get any internet pages to open. I get a message that I am not connected to the internet.
I immediately began a chat with their live help and was told to read the tutorials. No explanation was given to me and no help provided by the technician.
As far as I am concerned, the service does not work, don’t buy it.

Riley Candoo

HideMyAss - LIE about money back gurantee

Rated 1 out of 5
December 28, 2014

they do not honor their money back guarantee, so be AWARE, their system takes long times to login, you also get many disconnects and software will lock up your computer

susan

Submit Your Review For HideMyAss