ProXPN Review

3
Rated 3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (based on 63 reviews)

The ProXPN free plan is arguably this provider’s biggest selling point for us. It gives you unlimited connection time and data transfer, albeit at much slower speeds.

ProXPN Review Summary

This is a review of ProXPN’s free plan. Read our full ProXPN review to get more details about ProXPN’s paid services and advanced features.

ProXPN is a VPN service provider that has been around since 2009. It has one of the smallest networks we encountered, comprising only 37 servers. The provider also has a basic feature set, supporting only a limited number of protocols. It does provide a simple kill switch for added security.

ProXPN’s free plan is its best aspect, giving you unlimited connection time. It is also a lifetime offer, which means you can use it anytime with just a single signup. The only downside is that you will have to be content with much slower speeds when compared to paid plans

ProXPN is useful for common Internet activities like anonymous browsing or accessing geo-locked content, with its free plan being suitable for these tasks. Upgrading to the paid options gives you access to more features and faster speeds. You will also be able to do specialized tasks, like torrenting, with the paid options.

ProXPN VPN Features

ProXPN is pretty basic in terms of features. The main ones you will get are:

  • Unlimited connection time: This applies to both ProXPN’s free and paid plans, but the former has a speed limit of just 300 kbps.
  • Multiple protocol support: Premium account holders can choose between OpenVPN and PPTP.
  • Mobile device support: Premium account users can connect to the VPN service through Wi-Fi on any supported mobile device.
  • Torrenting support: ProXPN offers unlimited torrenting for premium account users, but does not specify whether this feature applies to all servers.
  • Open ports: ProXPN declares that all the available ports on its network are open, allowing users to switch to different ones as needed.

Despite the basic feature set, ProXPN can be used for most networking tasks that require a good amount of anonymity.

Free plan

The best thing about ProXPN’s free VPN plan is that you get unlimited data transfers and connection time. The problems are that the speed is limited to only 300kbps, and you can connect to only one location in the United States. Users though can still enjoy the same level of encryption and security that you can find on the premium version.

You also need to be aware of the other limitations of the free plan. Most notably, it doesn’t come with mobile support or torrenting access. There is also no customer support available for free users. These issues do not necessarily limit the usage of the free service, but you might want to opt for the premium service for purposes like torrenting.

PROXPN SERVERS & COUNTRIES

ProXPN has one of the smallest networks available, with just 37 server locations in five countries. These locations cover key cities, namely:

  • Dallas
  • Seattle
  • London
  • New York
  • Los Angeles
  • Amsterdam
  • Singapore

While only a handful, these locations are some of the most preferred by users.

Reliability & Speed Tests

Our tests revealed that you could get around 85% of your base speed with ProXPN. This is lower than the top providers we have tested but would be barely noticeable if you are on a fast Internet connection. The free plan will be much slower, as noted by ProXPN itself.

The provider did show some reliability issues such as dropped connections. These are slightly more numerous than with other providers but can be resolved easily.

Pricing and Payments

Aside from its free basic plan, ProXPN offers three different paid plans in its Premium category:

  • Three-month subscription: $29.95 ($9.98 per month)
  • Six-month subscription: $49.95 ($8.33 per month)
  • 12-month subscription: $74.95 ($6.25 per month)

All the paid plans give you access to every ProXPN feature. The site says the 12-month plan is its best offer, but you can mix different plans as per your needs. You can pay through credit card, PayPal, or Bitcoin.

Support

ProXPN mainly provides support through email. Customers can send their inquiries and question to support@proxpn.com or report any abuse at abusereport@proxpn.com. Agents will also be able to answer questions through the company’s Twitter account handle @proXPN.

Oddly enough, the site provides a link to a forum page, but it leads to a dead page. Outside of online channels, you can reach ProXPN’s phone support at +1-239-259-1698

POLICIES & LOGGING

ProXPN states in its Terms of Service that it strives to keep your information safe. It does not specify though the details of its security protocols. The site also claims that it does not log your online activity, but there is no additional on-site information.

ProXPN offers a 30-day, risk-free trial of the premium services for new accounts. ProXPN says that it will charge you immediately upon registration, but you can request a cancelation and a full refund within the said period.

You can also cancel your premium account at any time after the trial period. In this case, ProXPN will downgrade your account into a basic one, allowing you to use the free plan afterward.

Expert Recommendation

The ProXPN free plan is arguably this provider’s biggest selling point for us. It gives you unlimited connection time and data transfer, albeit at much slower speeds. The fact that the free plan is a lifetime offer is also a great touch on our books.

Another thing to note is the lack of detailed on-site information about ProXPN’s no-logs policy. We suggest that you inquire about this with the customer support staff before signing up.

Outside of the free plan, ProXPN is a barebones provider that has little in the way of advanced features. This is not necessarily bad, as it performed sufficiently in our tests. If you need something for more dedicated uses (like connecting to Netflix), you might want to switch to other VPN providers that we recommend.

ProXPN User Reviews

3
Rated 3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (based on 63 reviews)
Excellent32%
Very good16%
Average8%
Poor14%
Terrible30%

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
June 17, 2019

Does its job and hides my IP address.

Tim Pickle

No Title

Rated 3 out of 5
May 14, 2019

Is proXPN dying? ap not updated since late 2017. I can’t find any response to reviews here or tweets from 2019. Still works, just concerned their business may have failed.

Rich Bradley

Scam Alert: Unable to unsubscribe

Rated 1 out of 5
May 4, 2019

I had no intention of renewing after 3 months but when i go to the URL to unsubscribe the service, it fails to load on any of the browsers. It’s obvious the company is trying some convoluted strategy to prevent people from unsubscribing because all other pages work just fine on the website, so you can sign up with the service but not unsubscribe.

Vipin Bhatia

Bitcoin got me unlimited ProXPN!

Rated 4 out of 5
April 13, 2019

Several years ago ProXPN had a special offer for a 2-year plan that cost $50 payable in Bitcoin. I jumped on that and the service has been acceptable. When my 2 years ran out, the account continued to work! I’m on year 4 or 5 now, and my only complaint is that their updated client made the machine unavailable through SMB. So I run an older client.

Crash Gordon

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
March 29, 2019

Crashes on startup.

Matthew Wright

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
March 22, 2019

Cant select server. on my old phone i was able to select different servers. on my new phone with android P, the drop down menu is greyed out and it doesn’t show which server or location is selected.

James Stein

PROXPN IS A SCAM

Rated 1 out of 5
January 31, 2019

I signed up for this service for about 10 minutes 3 years ago and then switched my account to free, every year they try to charge my credit card. The phone number on their website is disconnected, their address keeps changing every year and they never answer support emails.
DO NOT USE PROXPN, THIS SERVICE IS A SCAM!!!

Mike

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
January 17, 2019

great app and lifetime premium support on old deals they drill honor.

A Google User

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
November 30, 2018

Its ok for free

MyPeopleNeedMe

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
November 23, 2018

Nice app

Ujjal Kashyap

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
November 21, 2018

I signed up to the 1 month android subscription, but the app still says I’m on the free version, and when I try to send feedback the app stops

Craig Peach

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
November 9, 2018

Using a Samsung Galaxy S7, fully updated and the app doesn’t work. It says it is connected but i can’t get any app’s to find a connection and get network errors…….facebook etc says it cant find a connection…..I’m using the premium version so it’s very annoying.

Jam Bo

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
October 27, 2018

Please you the activate location USA specially the las Vegas losangeless sanfrancisco new York Washington Texas Colorado Miami Florida hoston&specially Hollywood location&india

A Google User

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
September 26, 2018

It’s a VPN. Works well for me

A Google User

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
September 17, 2018

Pretty crappy app. Crashes constantly and does not reconnect after WiFi reconnection. There are much better vpn services out there.

A Google User

ProXPN is worth it

Rated 5 out of 5
September 7, 2018

I love this VPN and have no complaints. I will first admit that this is the only one Ive ever paid for and as for the lack of fancy extra’s I don’t miss them. I want to not know that its there and to be anonymous and safe. If I drop the connection to ProXPN then they kill the connection to the web site and that is all I ask. As for the high price…. I paid for one year I think and got three years with a deal I heard on a talk show. I think but I am not sure thats the case and its been a long time, I think I should be past the time to reniew and still have it, but I don’t know for sure the date or the length of the plan. I have used other vpn’s and am not planning on going anywhere but ProXPN. The added selling point is no logs. They have no records to hand anyone so aside from Big Brother being able to see our logs before we get a chance to encrypt every thing else is good…. well it has that appearance and really what more can we ask.

Sotodrone

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
August 27, 2018

App used to work. Keeps crashing now on my Note 8.

Eduardo Aguilar

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
August 27, 2018

Used to work great on my Samsung Galaxy Edge 7 but after the update on my phone it just states ProxPN stopped working. I have emailed Support three times but have received no reply.

Arthur Sleep

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
August 27, 2018

Crashes every time i try to connect. Total waste of money on their subscription

Yuval Solotoshko

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
August 27, 2018

App works great for 2 days. Now I am unable to access the VPN with my Android device when it worked previously. As a premium subscriber, this is very discouraging!

Matt Maus

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
August 27, 2018

App is not showing any servers and when i press connect, app crashes.

Umar Ali

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
August 27, 2018

Rock on. Five years running!

Adam Van

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
August 25, 2018

Worked fine on all my devices until I updated my Pixel to Pie; have submitted crash dumps. Thanks for checking this out, devs!

Stephen Moist

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
August 25, 2018

I have a lifetime licence but am thinking of ditching it. Several times recently just can not use on the phone, Samsung S7, works on pc, like now. Can not report faults as after writing down your issue and pressing the send button the app crashes, much time wasted in re-entering details before crash again, and right now just useless. Crash, crash, crash, can’t get any location details in the hub location field without the app stopping. I’ve been a user for 5 years and more and the phone app’s getting worse and worse and the major hubs busier and slower than ever.

John Saw

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
August 24, 2018

everytime I try to activate the VPN using my Android phone it crashes the app which makes it completely useless. I have a Samsung Galaxy S8 that’s up to date.

A Google User

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
August 19, 2018

Terrific application! User friendly interface which minimizes set up time and maximizes usage

Joshuah Gentry

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 31, 2018

This is good for all

Ruzaikfc

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
July 26, 2018

I can establish a connection to an end point (e.g. London) but then I can only transfer a few MB (5-20MB) before connection hangs and refuses to transfer further data. I then have to kill connection and restart, at which point I get a bit of data before it too dies. This doesn’t happen with my home or work VPN connections. Also, app gives no feedback when using in-app bug report function, and it CRASHES when trying to use the in-app support request function. Has potential, but far from smooth sailing… 🙁

Bart Teekman

Been quite good so far.

Rated 4 out of 5
July 13, 2018

I heard about ProXPN from Steve Gibson’s “Security Now!” podcast, and purchased it on their recommendation and review. For the most part I have no complaints. I have used VPN4ALL (Which was good too), but I found dollar for dollar ProXPN was better. I’ve used HideMyAss as well and left over some misgivings I had at the time over whether or not they would actually keep my info private from state authorities – I can’t say if that is still an issue now (April 2017) as it was a while back. Bottom line, I am happy with ProXPN at the moment and have not desire/need to leave. The ONLY reason I don’t give it 5 stars is that I am also a Linux user with which it is not compatible yet. 4 stars for now because of that (5 if they make it compatible with Linux)

Greg

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 9, 2018

I had a bunch of problems getting it to start, on my old phone it would not come on to the premium it stayed on the free account even though I had paid for a year, my new phone will not allow some of my apps to work, I finally figured it out! It’s the LG STYLO PRO 3 it doesn’t work, this great app works on my son’s phone, he has had the paid version with no problems, they have great customer service! I will try it again in a few months when I get a different phone 📱 , thanks again for all your customer service!

M Merrill

Cheat but still good

Rated 5 out of 5
June 26, 2018

Used hidemyass for years but they started slowing down like crazy. saw that proxpn was on sale for black friday and on jumped on that deal. now i got better speed for half the price.

Harry

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
June 15, 2018

So far pretty bad on Android phone. When it works it is very slow (bits/second). Other times it only goes into free account despite having paid for premium.

Matthew Reardon

Great value for the money

Rated 5 out of 5
May 30, 2018

I heard about Proxpn on a Twit and first tried the free plan. Let me tell you right away not to waste your time with it. It’s slow and disconnects all the time and the ads will drive you crazy. But after switching to the paid plan (they offer 30 days free trial) things are much better and really can’t find anything to complain about. There’s a small loss of speed but all VPNs do that and other than that Proxpn is rock solid.

Stanley

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
April 20, 2018

Suck s

Dan LL

PROXPN IS A SCAM!!!

Rated 1 out of 5
April 18, 2018

I signed up for this for about 10 minutes 3 years ago, switched my account to free and I still get charged every year. Their phone number is disconnected, the address is different from a year ago, they never answer emails and keep trying to charge my card. DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE ITS A SCAM!!!!

Mike

Very good

Rated 5 out of 5
April 13, 2018

I’ve been a customer of proxpn for about 8 months and so far no problems at all. The speed is great and the 1 time I had a question they got back to me in like 6 hours.

Micheal James

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
April 8, 2018

Worked once and then never!

Jean Smith

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
April 6, 2018

Can you tell me how to use it?

Md. Mashroor Zilan Snigdho

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
February 16, 2018

I’m so-called paying VIP customer, but half of the time it can’t hold a stable connection for more than a couple of minutes. Quite useless as some free services offer more stable connections.

Marc R.

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
January 15, 2018

Does not work

Tad Matus

Lacking diverse exit points

Rated 3 out of 5
November 22, 2017

ProXPN, solid service but lacking enough diverse exit points to be able to use Netflix or other streaming services.
ProXPN, Windows desktop client has improved, but still can crash due to unknown issues, more than likely linked to Windows updates.

Anonymous

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
October 29, 2017

Contacted by Customer support. Very responsive to my issue. They helped me get the app working again. Not happy with the performance lately. I like the updates to the app. It just is performing very crappy recently

Paul Anderson

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
October 23, 2017

The server in London is very sketchy

Ian Cliff

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
October 21, 2017

Really good vpn. Using it on my PC and my phone. However, the app could use an auto reconnect like there’s on PC, since I hop between access points and then the vpn falls out

Chris Gull

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
October 17, 2017

So far so good. Sometimes some locations could be congested, like Singapore. For those having dropped VPN connections I suspect it’s the phone not having enough memory or aggressive battery saving routines. My Huawei Honor 5x with 2MB memory was horrible with Proxpn. Now having switched to S7 Edge, everything works.

Jack Tan

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
October 15, 2017

Great support and really good performance. A comfort when you’re on public/hotel WiFi.

Mark Cintula

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
October 13, 2017

Thanks for giving me an option to access my account.

Edwin Garin

No Title

Rated 2 out of 5
September 26, 2017

Nexus 6P Android 8. I’ve ProXPN for years. It’s great on PC but the Android app keeps dropping the VPN without warning and gives no warning! I can’t trust it for security.

Mark Playle

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
September 24, 2017

Its unbearably slow, constant timeouts or super slow page loads. I tried all available servers, and its the same with all of them. Using a premium account with “unlimited speed”… Now the app force closes on launch, can’t use it at all anymore…

Sebastian Eberhardt

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
September 24, 2017

After the latest update the server drop-down menu was blank so I couldn’t select a different server. Uninstalling and reinstalling app resolved this and the servers now populate.

A Google User

Submit Your Review For ProXPN