StrongVPN Review

4.2
Rated 4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5 stars (based on 520 reviews)

While the company may not have the broadest and most impressive VPN network in the world, it has over 660 servers in some of the most popular countries in the world. StrongVPN’s software is more or less adequate, but at times, switching between servers can be clunky.

StrongVPN Review Summary

Starting as a small company in South Lake Tahoe, California in 1992, StrongVPN has come a long way in terms of quality and reliability. StrongVPN first introduced its VPN services in 2005. Since then, it has expanded its services to 660 servers across 26countries and 46 cities.

The company has a responsive and friendly support team that is active and ready to assist you 24/7, 365 days a year. It offers a free trial version that unlocks all its features. It has a 30-day money-back guarantee which is unconditional. It also has a “Zero Logging” policy, a very important factor that not all VPN providers offer.

All in all, StrongVPN has a mission to deliver honest VPN security and to keep people safe and private online. It is a high-quality provider which we recommend to anyone.

StrongVPN VPN Features

StrongVPN is one of the best VPN service providers for a reason. To ensure the company maintains its place at the top, StrongVPN is always up-to-date with the current technological discoveries and provides impressive features, such as:

  • Up to 12 simultaneous connections
  • “Best Location Available” server selection feature
  • “Internet Kill-Switch” feature
  • Zero logging policy
  • No speed-limit
  • 59,500+ VPN IPs
  • Connects to L2TP, SSTP, OpenVPN, IPSec, and IKEv2 protocols
  • Apps for iOS, Android, MacOS, Windows, Linux, and more.

These are just some of the features that make StrongVPN a big contender in the VPN industry. If you know your way around VPNs, you will definitely appreciate some of these features as they’re not common.

StrongVPN SERVERS & COUNTRIES

This is probably one of the most impressive things about StrongVPN. StrongVPN has a virtual network that spans over 26 countries, reaching 46 cities. While this isn’t the biggest network we’ve seen, it does provide users with a lot of options. StrongVPN continually expands its services, with over 660 servers offering 59,500 IP addresses at the time of this review.

They have servers in important countries for location unblocking, like:

  • USA
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • England
  • The Netherlands

They have also managed to promote their services in countries where VPNs are more or less restricted, like Turkey, Israel, and South Korea.

Reliability & Speed Tests

According to their website, StrongVPN has a “No Speed Limit” policy, which says a lot about the speed of its VPN services. StrongVPN state on their website that their 660+ servers guarantee unlimited options for browsing online content anonymously at the fastest connection speeds. From customer reviews we’ve read, and our initial testing, the speed is fast and the connection is mostly uninterrupted and stable.

Pricing and Payments

StrongVPN offers two different VPN plans. The packages are divided into a yearly plan and a monthly plan. Both of these plans include a 30-day money-back guarantee; the only difference is that the yearly plan costs less per month. Users are allowed to choose their preferred method of payment, whether it is via PayPal, Visa, Credit/Debit cards, ApplePay, American Express, or Alipay. You can choose the following VPN plans:

  • $10 per month: Users are billed $10 each month
  • $5.83 per month for 1 year: Users are billed $69.99 once a year

The difference between these two plans lies in the price, not in the features. Users will have access to the same features, but the price for the yearly plan is much more affordable compared to the one-month subscription. Nevertheless, choosing either one of them guarantees top-quality service. If you want to get a good deal, the yearly plan is highly recommended. StrongVPN also includes a “free trial” period of 30-days during which all features are unlocked. Unlike many providers that offer a limited version of their product during the free trial period, StrongVPN allows users to enjoy full access to all of its features.

Support

StrongVPN really has strong customer support, which is not something that we can say for most VPN providers. When it comes to ranking VPN service providers, customer support is a sensitive area which says a lot about the dedication of the provider to keep their users satisfied. The support that StrongVPN offers can be divided into these sections:

  • Setup guides: This extensive section consists of thorough guides, mostly revolving around set-up and manual instructions for different operating systems like Windows, MacOS, Linux, Android, and iOS.
  • Troubleshooting: Many “How To” articles that address common issues that users may have are found here. If you’re having technical difficulties with StrongVPN’s client software, try checking out the troubleshooting section before contacting support.
  • FAQ: The large FAQ section consists of relevant subsections, like how to get started with StrongVPN, general information, billing questions, and about the company.
  • Live chat: The live chat support is highly responsive, and is available 24/7.
    Email: You can reach StrongVPN’s support team by submitting an email request after filling out a formal page.
  • Phone support: The support team can be called at +1-800-755-8001 during their operating hours of 9 AM – 5 PM CT, from Monday to Friday.

Furthermore, StrongVPN’s customer support care is really up to the challenge. Users can choose to contact the support team through live chat or email. The general rule of thumb is that you submit thorough and complex questions via email, while leaving simpler questions for the live chat support. Our experience with the customer support team also deserves a positive review. Their team sent a response almost immediately during testing, and was there for many hours throughout the day.

It’s really a rarity to include customer support service under “Pros” in a review, but StrongVPN really impressed us in this area.

POLICIES & LOGGING

StrongVPN takes the privacy and security of its users very seriously. To keep the relationship with its clients as transparent as possible, StrongVPN has the following policies that concern all users:

  • Privacy policy: According to its website, the only personal information that StrongVPN collects is the personal data used for setting up accounts. This includes email addresses and payment information. It claims not to sell any information to third parties. They use cookies to enhance the functionality of its website, which can be disabled at any time.
  • Refund policy: StrongVPNs refund policy is unconditional, and the company claims to return full payments to all unsatisfied users who submitted refund requests within 30 days from the initial purchase. StrongVPN will also refund subscriptions made via the iTunes/App Store. Refund requests made more than 30 days after the purchase date will not be admitted. Refunds typically take 24 to 48 hours to be processed.
  • Logging policy: StrongVPN is a zero-logging VPN service. The company vouches not to track, record, or store your data while you’re using its VPN services. It only collects data for creating new accounts, collecting payments, communicating with current subscribers, offering troubleshooting, or customer support.
  • Protection against hackers, but not completely private: StrongVPN keeps you anonymous and secure whenever you’re online, but that doesn’t mean you’ll be completely private from every possible form of tracking.
  • StrongVPN does log time, date, and location data to track abuses that can be listed as spam. When issued a subpoena or court order, StrongVPN states that it will cooperate with law enforcement to track down hackers and fraudsters who use the company’s services.

Although it’s not the case with most providers, we can say with absolute certainty that StrongVPN’s customer protection policies pass with flying colors. The summary on its website perfectly describes how StrongVPN treats its users when it comes to respecting privacy and security.

Expert Recommendation

While the company may not have the broadest and most impressive VPN network in the world, it has over 660 servers in some of the most popular countries in the world. StrongVPN’s software is more or less adequate, but at times, switching between servers can be clunky.

The pricing can be considered at the industry average, and you receive a reliable VPN service in return. If you’re searching for a long-term VPN plan, the yearly package is affordable and recommended.

StrongVPN’s customer support service is above-average and really impressed us. Its on-page content sections feature a lot of useful information, including guides, FAQs, and how-to articles. The support team can be reached via email, phone, or live chat. Our experience with the support team was surprisingly positive; during our live chat, the agents responded promptly and with a friendly, informative attitude.

The company has solid customer protection policies, with its “Zero-Logging” policy particularly standing out. All in all, we recommend StrongVPN for anyone who wants to do browsing, torrenting and P2P, video and music streaming (including Netflix), or geo-unblocking.

StrongVPN User Reviews

4.2
Rated 4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5 stars (based on 520 reviews)
Excellent66%
Very good14%
Average5%
Poor3%
Terrible12%

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
October 7, 2019

Does not work for Android or Windows 10… Android, server locations/best server will never load. Windows 10, follow all steps but Google (what’s my location) always points to where I actually am. What’s the point of an app ???

Darknothing

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
September 5, 2019

I just came here to say HI to the folks in the Customer Support. They are true troopers for putting up with me so often. I know I’m a handful but what can you do, not everyone can be techy.

Big Mike

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 21, 2019

Works perfectly in France

Steve Austin

StrongVPN is so easy to use and...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 17, 2019

Strong VPN is so easy to use and consistently reliable, all for a low cost per month. Highly recommend!

Scott Dunn

Excellent platform for secure web...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2019

Excellent platform for secure web access. I have not noticed any loss of speed and it’s easy to connect. Best that I have tried yet.

Robert Horton

Absolutely fantastic service, Love it...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2019

It is a fantastic service at an affordable price point. The quality of service was extremely good with absolutely no issues

V Balakrishnan

I've found the VPN easy to use

Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2019

I’ve found the VPN easy to use and not a bad price, would like it to be the price I signed up for and not find it has increased after it was auto renewed which I also didn’t agree to.

Grant

Good service

Rated 5 out of 5
July 15, 2019

when i meet problem, your engineer give me immediately help . thanks a lot.

Weizhi

Great service can't say more

Rated 5 out of 5
July 15, 2019

Great service can’t say more

Majed

Recommended for China

Rated 5 out of 5
July 15, 2019

I have used Strong VPN in China for 4 years. (For some reason I need a VPN to login to the UK University Library where I am studying.)
I have been delighted with the service and I won’t be changing.
The internet speeds in China vary considerably and sometimes the connection to Strong’s has not been good, very occasionally I haven’t been able to connect. Whenever I had these problems, I would speak to my peers who used different providers and they all would have similar issues at the same time, leading us to believe they were local internet speed problems rather than being VPN/China issues. What I really appreciate about Strong’s is their great technical support service, barely used, but invaluable when needed.

Mister Tomato

THE SERVICE IS MEETING OUR EXPECTATIONS

Rated 5 out of 5
July 14, 2019

THE SERVICE IS MEETING OUR EXPECTATIONS

PCH

No

Rated 2 out of 5
July 13, 2019

Really slow and expensive – I say NO!!!

Jamie

No Title

Rated 1 out of 5
July 10, 2019

This VPN is a garbage. I’m in Guangzhou, didn’t first 30 days, the service is OK. It just slowly regresses from there on. By then, too late, no more refund available and you’re stuck with it.

Ryan Wong

Been a customer for years

Rated 5 out of 5
July 9, 2019

Been a customer for years. Not the cheapest, but reliable and great customer service and tech support.

Jose Leyba

StrongVPN does exactly what it promises...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 8, 2019

StrongVPN does exactly what it promises to do! When I travel and want to access a website from a blocked IP address, StrongVPN allows me to mask my location to enable access that would otherwise be blocked.

Angelique Weeks

I love the VPN

Rated 5 out of 5
July 8, 2019

I love the VPN, its working awesome ,

Abdul Sajid

Reliable, fast and cheap!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 8, 2019

Always works, good speed, lots of servers, for only $4.59/month. I highly recommend StrongVPN for anyone looking to hide their activity without compromising speed.

Steve

Excellent service

Rated 5 out of 5
July 8, 2019

Excellent service. Always available and with good speed. Recommendable.

Olga

Great product

Rated 5 out of 5
July 7, 2019

great product, exceptional support.

Don Brummer

Good support

Rated 4 out of 5
July 7, 2019

Good support

Francesco

15 years positive experience and counting!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 7, 2019

We have used StrongVPN to host our websites for the past 15 years. They are efficient and provide excellent service. No one can prevent or foresee all problems but what separates the men from the boys is how those problems are handled. StrongVPN handles any problem we have ever had quickly and then goes the extra mile by following up to make sure everything is good. We have had other hosting companies before StrongVPN but no one has exceeded our expectations the way this company has. If I had time and space, I could tell stories about one tech who lives in a nearby city and was interested in meeting in person just to assist and hang out or another tech who went out of his way to visit the StrongVPN server farm just to pick up and ship us a couple of hard disc drives that we could use as backup. These guys (and gals) really do go out of their way to be friendly and helpful!

Patches

Living and working overseas...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 7, 2019

We’ve been using StongVPN for international travel for about 5 years. Our primary uses were for additional security and to mask our location. They have excellent customer service, though I had an issue only twice, with resolution after a single contact. StrongVPN provides exactly the service they say they will, and for a reasonable price.

Elizabeth and Neal Wring

StrongVPN user from Mexico

Rated 5 out of 5
July 7, 2019

I have been using StrongVPN for years, I really like how the service has evolved to select the optimal connection in a fully automated fashion, the reliability has always been great, never lost a connection. Great Service, keep up the great work! A+

Carlos Martija

Awesome service have never had any...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 7, 2019

Awesome service have never had any issues great tech support

Michael Quinlan

I really love using StrongVPN

Rated 4 out of 5
July 7, 2019

I really love using StrongVPN. However, it has dropped a couple of times without me knowing that is why I didn’t give it 5 stars.

Ezra

Rapid response to service questions

Rated 5 out of 5
July 6, 2019

When I identified a radio station I could no longer reach I was given a solution that worked within a very short time

T Money

Transparent and excellent

Rated 5 out of 5
July 6, 2019

Transparent and excellent VPN services

Saul

I love Strong VPN because it never...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 6, 2019

I love Strong VPN because it never fails me no matter where I find myself. Sure, as with anything I may have to tweak my settings from place to place, but always have great service. If I do need help the service staff is on top of it. They are polite, always have the answer or know where to go to get it and don’t waste my time. I am a busy guy and travel to different places around the world. Wouldn’t go to any of them without strong VPN

David Hagenstein

So far so good

Rated 4 out of 5
July 5, 2019

So far so good. I havent used it as much as I have wanted. Very easy to navigate and use.

Brian

Sometime the site appears to be down

Rated 4 out of 5
July 5, 2019

Sometime the site appears to be down and unable to log onto. Generally, these are very limited times and usually can log on shortly after down time.

Mark

Have had this VPN service for years and...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 5, 2019

Have had this VPN service for years and have never had any issues with operations, costs or maintenance. We travel worldwide and have grown to count on StrongVPN to keep our system connected to the US.

Michael Chiaventone

On most occassions works well

Rated 4 out of 5
July 4, 2019

On most occasions works well. Only problem I have is that when connected (maybe just to UK site – not sure as not tried email through other locations) my apps tend to think I am in UAE so when log into my gmail it is in Arabic.I don’t think it is gmail problem as it only happens when I an logged in to Strong VPN

John

Hit or miss

Rated 2 out of 5
July 4, 2019

Not sure whose at fault, “BUT” the service often prevents me from
gaining access to the content I want to watch in the USA?

Glen

Works every time and excellent back up...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 3, 2019

Works every time and excellent back up assistance.

Stuart

God and fast

Rated 5 out of 5
July 3, 2019

God and fast i am happy

Dan

Excellent service and quick login

Rated 5 out of 5
July 3, 2019

Excellent service and quick Login

Spy

Strong VPN with iPlayer

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2019

Every time there is a problem, usually iPlayer blocking us, the team do their utmost to restore the service.
I am not IT clever, and the polite service is appreciated.

Mr. Malcolm Ingram

Was very good

Rated 4 out of 5
July 2, 2019

Was very good.

Larry

I live in NZ and the use of VPN makes...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2019

I live in NZ and the use of VPN makes my connection to USA and all my contacts there, that much better.

Richard

Works well and never have any issues or...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2019

Works well and never have any issues or problems with it. Have used it for a number of years.

Mary

It did not download..........

Rated 1 out of 5
July 2, 2019

It did not download……….

David

Easy connection anytime but...

Rated 4 out of 5
July 2, 2019

easy connection anytime but occasionally speed is reduced otherwise it will be 5 star

R. Maniam

You want the best your get the best you...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 2, 2019

You Want the best your get the best you want a Strong reliable service that says STRONG.
Then Get STRONG VPN don’t waste your time Strong is the word the best VPN is STRONG VPN
5 Star Rating should be 7 Stars as using STRONG VPN is the Best by far you have to be Professional use STRONG VPN .

Peter

I am not able to watch Netflix on my...

Rated 3 out of 5
July 1, 2019

I am not able to watch Netflix on my laptop. It states I have an error. I have tried to troubleshoot using the website and have been unsuccessful. So I am resulted to Netflix only on my cell phone.

Tina

StrongVPN is really strong

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2019

StrongVPN is really strong, reliable and real value for its competent price compared to other vpns,

Hayder Omar

Easy to use with an excellent user...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2019

Easy to use with an excellent user interface. Good choice of VPN locations

Andreas

My review

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2019

Very reliable service, professional and knowledgeable staff, and the product is outstanding..

Steven

Always great support and very email

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2019

Always great support and very email responsive, much better than Astril

Sammy

Easy and reliable, great tech support

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2019

I really like how easy the interface is to use. The VPN is trouble free and very flexible. I had problems on 2 occasions (setting up new computers) but a quick call to tech support had me up and running in minutes. They are very helpful if you need them. For the most part, the VPN takes care of itself. I use it on a Mac, Windows 10, and IOS.

James

Sign in request

Rated 5 out of 5
July 1, 2019

The one thing we would like to see you address is the need to sign in every day. Is there any other option that would allow a user to remain signed in?

Bob Lape

Submit Your Review For StrongVPN