VyprVPN Review

3.7
Rated 3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5 stars (based on 314 reviews)

VyprVPN does many things very well, and their partnership with SpiderOak for encrypted storage is a real bonus. Use it if you need encrypted storage that is also transported with top-notch encryption.

VyprVPN Review Summary

VyprVPN is owned and operated by the Golden Frog Network. Members of this Internet savvy company have been serving the online community since 1994. They are incorporated in Meggen, Switzerland, with offices in the USA as well. In addition to having a top-notch VPN service, the team is working closely with SpiderOak, an encrypted data storage solution recommended by Edward Snowden, to protect their user’s data further.

VyperVPN offers audited No-Log VPN

VyprVPN Features

VyprVPN have their own custom-built VPN client, with powerful features such as:

  • Multiple protocol selection
  • NAT Firewall for more security
  • Multiple app integration
  • Chameleon encryption for blocking

Their software is intuitive to use, and doesn’t take up too much system resources while running.

Perhaps the biggest selling point is their Chameleon encryption technology. They claim that it is able to defeat anyone who tries to throttle VPN traffic, a very rare phenomenon in our experience.

vyprvpn chameleon encryption

However, those in restrictive or oppressive countries could very well see benefits from this. Those in China, and other VPN censoring countries, would be wise to try it as we have heard of some positive results.

VyprVPN SERVERS & COUNTRIES

VyprVPN has 700+ servers in 70+ countries, and an astonishing 200,000+ IP addresses. Given that they allow unlimited server switching, it could be a long time before you use the same IP address twice.

With a good spread of servers across the world, with large nodes in North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia/New Zealand, and a smaller one in South America, VyprVPN offers a good deal of options for everyone. Holding them back in this regard is their complete lack of any servers in any African country south of Egypt.
VYPRVPN server locations

Reliability & Speed Tests

Our initial reaction is that there is little to no difference in using the Internet with or without their service in terms of speed. The connection used on the day of testing had a 2Mbps cap imposed upon it. Here are the speed test results without VyprVPN: vyprvpn server speeds no connection With VyprVPN using a USA server vyprvpn speed test With VyprVPN using a UK server Vyprvpn speed test uk After a full day of use, no disconnections occurred with the chosen server. A number of other servers were used for a period of a few hours with similar results. Upon the second day of testing, two disconnections from the service occurred. If there was any sort of ongoing issue it was with slight pixelation of videos when they first began to load, or were interrupted by advertisements. Over weeks of testing, reliability was very high as VyprVPN could stay connected for entire days without a single issue.

Pricing and Payments

VyprVPN has one plan with three term options, which give us a discount for paying in advance. billing structures:

  • $1.67/month for 36 months ($60).
  • $2.50/month for 18 months ($45).
  • $6.47/month for 2 months ($12.95)

They offer a 30-day money-back guarantee if you don’t like the service or if it doesn’t work for your needs, so you have the option to try them risk-free.

Support

Support comes in three different ways:

Email: This is the best way as they have an eager team of customer support agents, all thanks to their larger parent company Golden Frog Network. You can expect responses in the range of 2-3 hours, or quicker.

FAQ/Forum: The FAQ page for VyprVPN looks like something that would be able to teach you how to build a car from scratch. It is well organized by topic, operating system, and has a huge manual setup section.

Live chat: A limited feature for quick questions and answers. This is not the best place to go for serious help.

Both options are good enough to get the job done, but their recent addition of live chat support puts them on par with any other VPN provider. On a good day though, their email support will handle all of your needs.

POLICIES & LOGGING

VyprVPN does many things very well, and their partnership with SpiderOak can do plenty for those with higher information security needs.

With all of their years of experience in the Internet industry, VyprVPN offers you a complete service all within their company – no third parties ever handle anything that you do with them. From billing, to the service itself, everything is operated by VyprVPN and the Golden Frog Network parent company.

VyprVPN has a publicly audited no-logging policy, including both connection and activity logs, and treats all traffic equally including p2p, torrenting and streaming.

VyprVPN will work great for those who want to do general browsing, video streaming, unlock geo-blocked content, and protect their connection. With their above-average pricing, but extra features, you get your money’s worth when you choose VyprVPN as your VPN provider.

Expert Recommendation

VyprVPN does many things very well, and their partnership with SpiderOak for encrypted storage is a real bonus. Use it if you need encrypted storage that is also transported with top-notch encryption.

With 15+ years of experience in the Internet industry, and a strong dedication to privacy from spying, VyprVPN offers you an exceptional Tier-1 network. Everything you do with them, including billing, their server network, and support, is handled by VyprVPN and the Golden Frog Network parent company.

VyprVPN is recommended for those who want to do general browsing, video streaming, and to unlock geo-blocked content. Their no-logging policy also makes them a great option for those seeking to download torrents and stream anonymously. It is also great on public Wi-Fi for anti-hacker defense. They have above-average pricing, but their extra features and Tier-1 network do make them a good deal if you are looking for exactly what they offer.

VyprVPN User Reviews

3.7
Rated 3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5 stars (based on 314 reviews)
Excellent52%
Very good16%
Average5%
Poor6%
Terrible21%

N/A

Rated 3 out of 5
July 3, 2021

Customer service is quick and they delete bad reviews. Login email is case sensitive and will block app login if first letter was capitalized. Previously left a 2star review that got deleted.

Sly Green

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
June 28, 2021

great VPN, heaps of locations, simple to use with great extras. best thing is they have regular audits to check whether they log data or not which is a huuuge plus for me. well recommended.

Nate Cowley

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
June 28, 2021

This is one of three VPNs I would ever use… Yup I know more then you. So listen closely this app crushes Proton and Nord. Crushes in speed, sophistication and simplicity. Nord and Proton are after thoughts pimping security because they are in protected countries.

Matthew Standish

The Public WiFi Protection feature is great

Rated 5 out of 5
June 27, 2021

I really like the Public WiFi Protection feature. You add WiFi networks that you trust, such as home and office, to a trusted network list. All other WiFi networks automatically have the VPN connect. Being based in Switzerland was a major plus factor too.

Green Sub

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
June 25, 2021

This app really amazing, net speed very fast.Any one net problem, download VyprVPN.

Afran Nisho DL

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
June 23, 2021

Great choice! I just recommended this to friends & now they switch to VyprVPN

Jisrael Peligrino

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
June 23, 2021

Excellent. Simple to install. Performance is good.

Michael Scholes

N/A

Rated 1 out of 5
June 22, 2021

This VPN does not hide my IP, on mobile or desktop. I keep getting letters from my ISP about copyright infringement. Time to switch back to Nord, I guess.

Michael Weisberg

N/A

Rated 1 out of 5
June 18, 2021

Ever since I bought a new three year subscription, it stoped working. Help team ask to do the same thing again and again. No solution at all. Don’t waste your money. Stay away from this.

Sushin Poudel

N/A

Rated 4 out of 5
June 18, 2021

Activating kill switch disables the ability to connect in the latest update

Caleb Kanyesigye Kakuba

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
June 17, 2021

The service is excellent. I’ve been a subscriber since 2016, and no complaints.

Blunt

N/A

Rated 2 out of 5
June 14, 2021

at this moment? horrible. it can’t even connect, freezes my entire phone. and for the 12 hours it did work I could barley load my calculator

samantha bascom

N/A

Rated 3 out of 5
June 14, 2021

doesn’t hide my ip… ?, edited because chrome does not forget your location, even though you turn on Vyprvpn. I installed duckduckgo browser and here i got at “whatsmyip” the region i had set in the VPN. So probably your location is saved or based somewhere else with chrome browser.

P. van der Wolf

N/A

Rated 2 out of 5
June 6, 2021

Depended for years on Vypr’s 5-star vpn (main GLITCH: always check whether Kill Switch is still on!!) yet now have trust concerns (privacy champions don’t gaslight, they explain fully on website pages): 1. App appears to be monitizing via google Admob and Tag trackers (3rd parties DO assemble identi…

Chiron R

N/A

Rated 1 out of 5
June 4, 2021

Doesn’t work anymore on Android. Even after 2 hours of support. There are lots of problems with the app. Even the GoldenFrog webpage uses an invalid certificate. Can you really trust such an app coming from this company.

EA. Huy.

N/A

Rated 4 out of 5
June 3, 2021

I’ve used for years, allows me to stream stuff while traveling for work.

Andrew E

N/A

Rated 1 out of 5
June 3, 2021

Doesn’t work. It simply won’t connect to any server on my Android device. I’ve sent multiple e-mails with not even an acknowledgement. Not worth the effort. There are better alternatives out there.

Nico Pretorius

N/A

Rated 4 out of 5
June 2, 2021

It is a amazing vpn it works fast it works good it is easy to use it has a lot of servers and if you get a year it is really cheap and it does not keep logs the only thing I don’t like is that it does not have a ad blocker but other than that it is amazing

Fuck Biden and Fuck you for voting for him

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
May 28, 2021

The best VPN liked it. No issues at all. Chromecast for google tv, PC and android works perfect.

Alula Gebreegziabher

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
May 28, 2021

Worked great up until this last update…… now I cannot connect unless kill switch is off?? Help please

William Courtney

N/A

Rated 4 out of 5
May 26, 2021

Had NordVPN for 2 years prior, it worked better, connections more stable and the APP light-years ahead of this one. I use vypr now because it isn’t an American company. I trust vypr with my information. But they should look at the user friendliness of the Nord app and take some inspiration from it. …

Willi Gari

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
May 25, 2021

Better and faster than expressvpn and nord in Australia, in my opinion

M C

N/A

Rated 2 out of 5
May 23, 2021

When it connects it’s ok – app bypass feature was broken at some point from v4.3 to v4.4 – has trouble connecting using any protocol (openvpn, Wireguard etc) – troubleshoot doesn’t really do anything – slow

Joe Kirwin

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
May 22, 2021

Amazing experience, and awesome price for the value and quality. I have no complaints whatsoever. Highly recommended as a VPN for your phone, or pc.

Bashar Al-Khalili

N/A

Rated 3 out of 5
May 8, 2021

I recently installed VyprVPN in my android mobile phone (MI 9 pro) with fully paid licience. The speed is good. However, the operation of VyprVPN is frequently terminated when I close other apps running in background in one take. Even though the VPN configuration has been set at “Auto Reconnect” at …

Wilson Wong

Null support service/Bypassing ISP restrictions never worked

Rated 1 out of 5
May 7, 2021

I’ve been using VyprVpn for several months now, I’ve never been satisfied with this service, the server all the time under load so my internet speed slowed down when connecting to their servers most of the time.When it comes to bypassing restrictions as they claim that Chameleon technology will bypass ISP restrictions which was never worked, they’re just forked OpenVpn and added a layer which is easy to detect by deep packet analysis.Finally, I’ve contacted the support many times but never get a response.I’ll never use this (VyprVpn) again

Mohamed Lamine KESSOUM

N/A

Rated 3 out of 5
May 4, 2021

At first, it was okay to use. But lately it will disconnect automatically and the app crashes like 3 to 5 times in 5 minute. I enjoy using this vpn so please fix that.

Khun Ye Khaung

Brilliantly Customizable

Rated 5 out of 5
May 3, 2021

So, I know they’re stalking phone usage over the WiFi at work, and it’s the only access to the Internet unless you step outside, and they track that too. This app let’s me automatically connect to the secure VPN whenever I’m connected to my work WiFi. I can schedule doctor appointments or listen to NPR without worry that someone is judging me.

Nise1975

N/A

Rated 1 out of 5
April 30, 2021

I try to Login my vyper vpn but it shows that my plan expired! But it will be Expire on 3rd August 2021! Several times to Connect with their support but didn’t get any Result! They didn’t solve the issue, it has been 4 Days! I Don’t know why this was happened & aslo why they didn’t give me proper so…

Rezwan sal sabil

N/A

Rated 2 out of 5
April 25, 2021

I cannot get this app to work on my firetv. It tries to connect and times out. I have used other vpns that were not this problematic. Please advise if you have a solution that I could try. Right now I have to give it a low rating because it seems to be incompatible with my second generation fire tv.

Ida Grissom

N/A

Rated 3 out of 5
April 23, 2021

I can log in to my account via a browser window. I set up my router and it works fine. The iOS app works on my wife’s iPad. But I can’t log in from the Android app on two different devices using the same credentials – I get “Invalid username or password” error. Customer support is worthless. Please …

Greg Thornton

N/A

Rated 1 out of 5
April 15, 2021

Everything was fine until I was charged the renewal fee and given an updated app that doesn’t work. What happened!? ? It’s been OVER 2 YEARS now that vyprvpn hasn’t worked on my FireTV. Not even side loading it works. WTFFFFFFFF. Update: non-connectivity private DNS issues getting worse by the day….

Darin Dacey

N/A

Rated 2 out of 5
April 14, 2021

Android version settings do not work. App does not auto-connect on boot, does not auto-reconnect when networks change or roaming. edit: To the Golden Frog employee who left a form letter reply on my review: This is incredibly lazy when users leave feedback and your response is “you should contact so…

Matt M

N/A

Rated 4 out of 5
April 12, 2021

Just signed up last night, and so far, the connection is fine. However, there are a few things from the jump I do not like, at all. On my PC; 1. I HATE having to login each time I want to connect. I should be able to save user info and just click connect. 2. When I manually disconnect, the kill swit…

Cindy Peters

N/A

Rated 3 out of 5
April 9, 2021

I am a Samsung galaxy user. The choice of “Connection per app” is good intent but its switch is only applicable to default built in apps and not 3rd party apps like Google Chrome or Google Maps!

HU Shanxiong

N/A

Rated 2 out of 5
April 7, 2021

Android app works well but it seems the windows app is buggy with windows 7 & 10. Extremely well priced! Update: Requires constant reinstall for open vpn (tap adapter problem) then troubleshooting is stuck on “testing protocol”. I would not recommend for Windows OS but fine for Android.

Paul Paul

N/A

Rated 5 out of 5
April 6, 2021

By far the best VPN i’ve had. I have used a ton of different competitors like NordVPN, IPVanish, Tunnelbear, ProtonVPN but experienced some issues with all of them. Mainly the speed just being terrible. I’ve yet to encounter any issues with Vyper. It’s simple to use but does have customizable settin…

MeesRay

N/A

Rated 1 out of 5
April 1, 2021

Most days, it’s an absolute pain to connect to a server. I end up having to uninstall and re-install it a couple of times a month. Often disconnects without notification, sometimes without engaging the kill switch. Sometimes, the kill switch interferes with the service itself; won’t connect to a ser…

Arwa Eman

N/A

Rated 3 out of 5
March 30, 2021

The service itself is superb. It can be utilized across multiple devices and platforms, with speeds, availability, and latency good enough to even play multiplayer games. However, when if comes to the android app, I have to knock off two stars. This is because the app randomly disconnects and enters…

Stephen Shiner

This VPN is good

Rated 4 out of 5
February 23, 2021

This VPN is good, just some annoying issues. The app always takes up space on the dock and prevents shutdown & restart. It’s really annoying when you set the computer to shutdown automatically.The Mac app connects to servers quite slowly compared to other VPNs but the connection speed is quite good and Wire Guard protocol is a plus. I’ve also noticed some speed fall-offs when my refund period was over.

Penta-Power

This VPN is good

Rated 4 out of 5
February 23, 2021

This VPN is good, just some annoying issues. The app always takes up space on the dock and prevents shutdown & restart. It’s really annoying when you set the computer to shutdown automatically.The Mac app connects to servers quite slowly compared to other VPNs but the connection speed is quite good and Wire Guard protocol is a plus. I’ve also noticed some speed fall-offs when my refund period was over.

Penta-Power

N/A

Rated 2 out of 5
February 20, 2021

Stop deleting my review. The VPN works great but I have 3 issues: 1. The vpn auto kill works but when your connection is re-established, auto connect does not work. 2. When you lose vpn connection, you are not notified of it and lose your privacy until reconnected. 3. The app is barebones and I wish…

Mr Sonjohn

N/A

Rated 4 out of 5
February 9, 2021

If you don’t mind checking to make sure that it has properly re-connected from time to time. Other than that, great app. Multiple protocols. They own their servers, no 3rd party. No backdoor. Biggest draw no breaches, unlike other VPN providers. Edit: Forgot to mention support is Zendesk. Horrendous…

Jeff H

Terrible Customer Care / Refund Issues

Rated 1 out of 5
December 9, 2020

Having taken out a 3 day trial via Google Playstore, I overlooked that it was only 3 days & was subsequently charged 22.99 for 3 months service. As it was my fault I accepted that the charge would be made, however as I didnt want the service I contacted them to refund under their money back refund policy. Having provided my paypal transaction screenshot (and my bank amount debited screenshot) they claim they have not received any payment?? The customer care is terrible and was advised to contact Google Pay by them (or rather fobbing off their responsibility to refund) If I dont get this resolved either via Vypr or Google I will raise claim with Paypal. Be warned if you take a trail & forget, the customer care is absolutely terrible. Id give them no stars if i could.

Ged

Terrible Customer Care / Refund Issues

Rated 1 out of 5
December 9, 2020

Having taken out a 3 day trial via Google Playstore, I overlooked that it was only 3 days & was subsequently charged 22.99 for 3 months service. As it was my fault I accepted that the charge would be made, however as I didnt want the service I contacted them to refund under their money back refund policy. Having provided my paypal transaction screenshot (and my bank amount debited screenshot) they claim they have not received any payment?? The customer care is terrible and was advised to contact Google Pay by them (or rather fobbing off their responsibility to refund) If I dont get this resolved either via Vypr or Google I will raise claim with Paypal. Be warned if you take a trail & forget, the customer care is absolutely terrible. Id give them no stars if i could.

Ged

Service is real good and the servers…

Rated 4 out of 5
August 31, 2020

Service is real good and the servers are up to the standard.

Sandhya

Service is real good and the servers…

Rated 4 out of 5
August 31, 2020

Service is real good and the servers are up to the standard.

Sandhya

Save your time for other vpns if you are in China

Rated 1 out of 5
July 18, 2020

Been using this for 6 months. Only chameleon works on windows, only ikev2 and chameleon works on iOS, doesn’t work on Ubuntu and I don’t have a Mac. Chameleon is slow and disconnects frequently, also takes a long time to connect. Ikev2 is more stable but much slower. WireGuard worked well and fast for days after the release but stopped working at all on all systems. All their support team can say is obvious things like restarting router and reinstall application, obviously didn’t fix anything. The only good thing about it is that chameleon always manages to get a connection if you keep reconnecting it despite being slow and unstable.

Yajew114515

Cancellation of Service and Auto Pay is Nearly Impossible

Rated 1 out of 5
July 10, 2020

In 2019, I tried to cancel the Vypr service and auto pay. I could not find the online cancellation method; i was buried somewhere on their “two different website shell game” platforms (how convenient). So I sent a cancellation email to support. Two days later they sent me an “aw come on, do you really want to cancel” email. I was infuriated at this point and demanded immediate cancellation without further dialogue and a refund. I assumed at that point that my demand would be met but—Two more days passed and they sent another email asking me for the last four numbers of my credit card (which they obviously had on file because they were still billing for a service that was not functional). I found that third 2019 email in 2020 when they charged my credit card AGAIN! They billed to an old credit card that I put in the dormant card file, and I was notified by my credit card company that their $99.99 charge to my old card had acquired two months of late fees (now $172). Back and forth with Vypr customer support again 10 times, trying to get them to do the right thing and refund both 2019 and 2020. For the 2019 refund, they tried peddling some crap about how their card processor could not process a refund, they have limited resources to answer support questions in a timely fashion, their third request for my credit card number was for verification and my protection. In fact, they were doing all they could to avoid processing the cancellation and continue their fraudulent charging policy (for my protection, yeah right). I went back to the credit card company and filed a fraudulent charge report for the 2020 charge, and after it was honored, I contacted them again and said “hey, by the way they also charged me in 2019”. The credit card company refunded a total of $272- two years of unauthorized Vypr charges and late fees. They also changed my card number so I don’t ever have to worry about Vypr again. DON’T DO IT!!

Robert Schuttenhelm

Cancellation of Service and Auto Pay is Nearly Impossible

Rated 1 out of 5
July 10, 2020

In 2019, I tried to cancel the Vypr service and auto pay. I could not find the online cancellation method; i was buried somewhere on their “two different website shell game” platforms (how convenient). So I sent a cancellation email to support. Two days later they sent me an “aw come on, do you really want to cancel” email. I was infuriated at this point and demanded immediate cancellation without further dialogue and a refund. I assumed at that point that my demand would be met but—Two more days passed and they sent another email asking me for the last four numbers of my credit card (which they obviously had on file because they were still billing for a service that was not functional). I found that third 2019 email in 2020 when they charged my credit card AGAIN! They billed to an old credit card that I put in the dormant card file, and I was notified by my credit card company that their $99.99 charge to my old card had acquired two months of late fees (now $172). Back and forth with Vypr customer support again 10 times, trying to get them to do the right thing and refund both 2019 and 2020. For the 2019 refund, they tried peddling some crap about how their card processor could not process a refund, they have limited resources to answer support questions in a timely fashion, their third request for my credit card number was for verification and my protection. In fact, they were doing all they could to avoid processing the cancellation and continue their fraudulent charging policy (for my protection, yeah right). I went back to the credit card company and filed a fraudulent charge report for the 2020 charge, and after it was honored, I contacted them again and said “hey, by the way they also charged me in 2019”. The credit card company refunded a total of $272- two years of unauthorized Vypr charges and late fees. They also changed my card number so I don’t ever have to worry about Vypr again. DON’T DO IT!!

Robert Schuttenhelm

Submit Your Review For VyprVPN